Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Towards MEMS-based infrared tunable microspectrometers
Author(s): Jarek Antoszewski; John M. Dell; Thananjeyan Shivakumar; Mariusz Martyniuk; Kevin Winchester; Justin Wehner; Charles A. Musca; Lorenzo Faraone
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Silicon nitride membrane based MEMS technologies are used in numerous optical micro-systems for many practical applications. In recent years significant effort has been invested into miniaturization of present spectrometers leading to development of compact systems based on linear detector arrays. However, further miniaturization requires the application of MEMS technology. MEMS based micro-Fabry-Perot cavity structures with a flexible mirrors operating in the visible and near infrared range have already been demonstrated. Extension of the technology to mid- (MWIR-3μm to 5μm) and long-wave infrared (LWIR - 8μm to 12μm) seems to be a natural development. However, this requires much larger deflection of the movable mirror of the Fabry-Perot cavity: ~1μm for 3μm to 5μm and ~2μm for 8μm to 12μm wavelengths range. Consequently, precise control of the intrinsic stress in the silicon nitride support film is needed. Our experiments show that suitable silicon nitride properties can be obtained by carefully controlling the process parameters during plasma enhanced CVD growth. In addition to the material requirements, the mechanical structure of the flexible mirror is also important. In order to optimize the mirror structure/shape, finite element analysis was undertaken. The results show that for certain silicon nitride support shapes and thicknesses, mirror deflections needed for both the MWIR and LWIR wavelength regions are possible.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 November 2002
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4935, Smart Structures, Devices, and Systems, (14 November 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.476343
Show Author Affiliations
Jarek Antoszewski, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
John M. Dell, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Thananjeyan Shivakumar, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Mariusz Martyniuk, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Kevin Winchester, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Justin Wehner, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Charles A. Musca, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Lorenzo Faraone, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4935:
Smart Structures, Devices, and Systems
Erol C. Harvey; Derek Abbott; Vijay K. Varadan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top