Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Evolution of a 193-nm bilayer resist for manufacturing
Author(s): Ranee W. Kwong; Mahmoud Khojasteh; Margaret C. Lawson; Timothy Hughes; Pushkara Rao Varanasi; William R. Brunsvold; Robert D. Allen; Phillip J. Brock; Ratnam Sooriyakumaran; Hoa D. Truong; Arpan P. Mahorowala; David R. Medeiros
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

As 193 nm resist moves into production with minimum feature sizes approaching 100nm, bilayer resist is being evaluated more closely for certain applications. Our polymer design has been evolving to meet tighter outgassing requirements. Optical density, etch resistance and dissolution behavior are other considerations. The protecting group used in our 248 nm bilayer is not useful for 193 nm lithography because of the high optical density contribution from Si-Si linkage. Silicon was incorporated into a COMA platform for the first generation polymer. Maleic anhydride is used to modulate dissolution characteristics. The first generation 193 nm bilayer was optimized to print 120 nm L/S patterns with an attenuated PSM on a 0.6 NA Nikon S302. We will describe next generation platforms that address silicon outgassing concern. The lithographic performance of these resists was evaluated on a 0.6 NA Nikon S302 with a dark field mask. Results for 280nm pitch (1:1 L/S) and 245 nm pitch (105 nm L, 140 nm S) lithography are presented. Also shown is result for a 245 nm pitch (1:1 L/S) and 210 nm pitch (1:1 L/S) on a 0.75 NA ASML PAS 5500/1100. Outgassing data generated at MIT Lincoln Laboratory will be discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 July 2002
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 4690, Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XIX, (24 July 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.474239
Show Author Affiliations
Ranee W. Kwong, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Mahmoud Khojasteh, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Margaret C. Lawson, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Timothy Hughes, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Pushkara Rao Varanasi, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
William R. Brunsvold, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Robert D. Allen, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Phillip J. Brock, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Ratnam Sooriyakumaran, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Hoa D. Truong, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Arpan P. Mahorowala, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)
David R. Medeiros, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4690:
Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XIX
Theodore H. Fedynyshyn, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top