Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of a compact tunable laser-driven Compton scattering x-ray source for protein crystallography
Author(s): Frederic V. Hartemann; David J. Gibson; Winthrop J. Brown; Bernhard Rupp; Hector A. Baldis
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

A complete, 3D theory of Compton scattering is described, which fully takes into account the effects of the electron beam emittance and energy spread upon the scattered x-ray spectral brightness. In the linear regime, and in the absence of radiative corrections; it is found that each vacuum eigenmode gives rise to a single Doppler-shifted classical dipole excitation. This formalism is then applied to Compton scattering in a 3D laser focus, and yields a complete description of the influence of the electron beam phase space topology on the x-ray spectral brightness; analytical expressions including the effects of emittance and energy spread are also obtained in the 1D limit. Within this framework, the x-ray brightness generated by a 25 MeV electron beam is modeled, fully taking into account the beam emittance and energy spread, as well as the 3D nature of the laser focus; its application to x-ray protein crystallography is outlined.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 June 2002
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 4626, Biomedical Nanotechnology Architectures and Applications, (21 June 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.472092
Show Author Affiliations
Frederic V. Hartemann, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
David J. Gibson, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Winthrop J. Brown, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Bernhard Rupp, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Hector A. Baldis, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4626:
Biomedical Nanotechnology Architectures and Applications
Raymond P. Mariella; Michelle Palmer; Darryl J. Bornhop; Darryl J. Bornhop; Ramesh Raghavachari; Shuming Nie; Ramesh Raghavachari; Catherine J. Murphy; David A. Dunn; David A. Dunn; Raymond P. Mariella; Catherine J. Murphy; Dan V. Nicolau; Shuming Nie; Michelle Palmer; Ramesh Raghavachari, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top