Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Miniaturization of ultra-high-throughput screening assays into 1536-well format
Author(s): James R. Beasley; Paul M. McCoy; Tiffany Walker; David A. Dunn
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Assay miniaturization and the implementation of high-density 1536 micro-well screening increases the speed and efficiency of screening and lead discovery. To serve this need, a platform of miniaturizable assay technologies has been assembled for specific biological targets. This platform will enable initiation and completion of uHTS screens in a straightforward and expeditious manner. For kinases, we have examined assays using several technologies including DELFIA, HTR-FRET, FP, EFC, and FMAT. This presentation compares these technologies for the measurement of typical tyrosine kinase activity in 1536-well format. Quality parameters such as assay reproducibility, signal: background ratio, Z factor, and assay sensitivity were calculated and compared. Additionally, the relative merits of each of these technologies were assessed in terms of assay miniaturization, ease of development, ultimate screening capability, efficiency, and cost.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 June 2002
PDF: 4 pages
Proc. SPIE 4626, Biomedical Nanotechnology Architectures and Applications, (21 June 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.472060
Show Author Affiliations
James R. Beasley, Pharmacopeia, Inc. (United States)
Paul M. McCoy, Pharmacopeia, Inc. (United States)
Tiffany Walker, Pharmacopeia, Inc. (United States)
David A. Dunn, Pharmacopeia, Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4626:
Biomedical Nanotechnology Architectures and Applications
Raymond P. Mariella; Michelle Palmer; Darryl J. Bornhop; Darryl J. Bornhop; Ramesh Raghavachari; Shuming Nie; Ramesh Raghavachari; Catherine J. Murphy; David A. Dunn; David A. Dunn; Raymond P. Mariella; Catherine J. Murphy; Dan V. Nicolau; Shuming Nie; Michelle Palmer; Ramesh Raghavachari, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top