Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

First programmable digital optical processor: optical cellular logic image processor
Author(s): Robert G. A. Craig; Brian S. Wherrett; Andrew C. Walker; Douglas J. McKnight; Ian R. Redmond; John Fraser Snowdon; Gerald Stuart Buller; Edward J. Restall; R. A. Wilson; Suzanne Wakelin; Neil McArdle; P. Meredith; J. Michael Miller; Mohammad R. Taghizadeh; G. Mackinnon; Stanley D. Smith
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The construction of digital optical processors based on the cellular logic image processor (CLIP) architecture is discussed. Both a single-channel processor and a parallel version incorporating 256 information channels have been constructed. The single channel version of the processor allows eight different combinatorial logic processes to be carried out under electronic control and can be programmed in real time. Several algorithms including pattern recognition, byte comparison, full addition and subtraction have been implemented with this machine. The 256 channel version operates similarly to the single channel version except that a reduced instruction set internal processor with four selectable logic processes is used. A nearest neighbor interconnect provides the communication required between the different information channels. More advanced processing capability can be achieved with the introduction of such non-local interconnects as shuffle networks. Results and simulations obtained with these processors are presented. Advances in the various components of the O- CLIP circuit, future goals, and potential application are also discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 September 1991
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 1505, Optics for Computers: Architectures and Technologies, (1 September 1991); doi: 10.1117/12.47007
Show Author Affiliations
Robert G. A. Craig, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Brian S. Wherrett, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Andrew C. Walker, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Douglas J. McKnight, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Ian R. Redmond, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
John Fraser Snowdon, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Gerald Stuart Buller, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Edward J. Restall, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
R. A. Wilson, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Suzanne Wakelin, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Neil McArdle, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
P. Meredith, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
J. Michael Miller, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Mohammad R. Taghizadeh, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
G. Mackinnon, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Stanley D. Smith, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 1505:
Optics for Computers: Architectures and Technologies
Guy J. Lebreton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top