Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

New cryogenic optical test capability at Marshall Space Flight Center's Space Optics Manufacturing Technology Center
Author(s): Jeff Kegley; Ron Eng; Robert Engberg; James B. Hadaway; William Hogue; J. Cary Reily; Kevin Russell; H. Philip Stahl; Ernest R. Wright
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Marshall Space Flight Center (MSFC) has been performing optical wavefront testing at cryogenic temperatures since 1999 in the Space Optics Manufacturing Technology Center's (SOMTC's) X-ray / Cryogenic Facility (XRCF). Recently the cryogenic optical testing capability has been extended to a smaller chamber. This smaller horizontal cylindrical vacuum chamber has been outfitted with a helium-cooled liner that can be connected to the existing helium refrigeration system bringing the kilowatt of refrigeration capacity to bear on a 1 x 2 meter test envelope. Cryogenic cycles to 20 Kelvin, including set-up and chamber evacuation/backfill, are now possible in only a few days. Since activation and chamber characterization tests in September 2001, the new chamber has been used to perform a number of proprietary cryogenic tests on mirrors, adhesives, and actuators. A vibration survey has also been performed on the test chamber. Chamber specifications and performance data, vibration environment data, and optical test capability will be discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 March 2003
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4850, IR Space Telescopes and Instruments, (5 March 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.461793
Show Author Affiliations
Jeff Kegley, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Ron Eng, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Robert Engberg, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
James B. Hadaway, Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
William Hogue, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
J. Cary Reily, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Kevin Russell, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Ernest R. Wright, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4850:
IR Space Telescopes and Instruments
John C. Mather, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top