Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Status of the EPIC/MOS calibration onboard XMM-Newton
Author(s): Philippe Ferrando; Anthony F. Abbey; Bruno Altieri; Monique Arnaud; Paul J. Bennie; Mauro Dadina; Mark Denby; Simona Ghizzardi; R. Gareth Griffiths; Marcus Kirsch; Nicola La Palombara; A. de Luca; David H. Lumb; Silvano Molendi; Doris Neumann; Jean Luc Sauvageot; Richard Saxton; Steve Sembay; Andrea Tiengo; Martin J. L. Turner
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The XMM-Newton observatory has the largest collecting area flown so far for an X-ray imaging system, resulting in a very high sensitivity over a broad spectral range. In order to exploit fully these performances, an accurate calibration of the XMM-Newton instruments is required. This calibration is being continuously updated, in order to refine the stable calibration parameters as well as to account for the detector response changes induced by radiation damage. We report here on the current overall status of the EPIC/MOS cameras calibrations, and in particular on the recent work involving Charge Transfer Inefficiency evolution and recovery.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 March 2003
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4851, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Telescopes and Instruments for Astronomy, (11 March 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.461310
Show Author Affiliations
Philippe Ferrando, CEA Saclay (France)
Anthony F. Abbey, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Bruno Altieri, European Space Agency (Spain)
Monique Arnaud, CEA Saclay (France)
Paul J. Bennie, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Mauro Dadina, Istituto di Tecnologie e Studio delle Radiazioni Extraterrestri (Italy)
Mark Denby, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Simona Ghizzardi, IASF-CNR (Italy)
R. Gareth Griffiths, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Marcus Kirsch, European Space Agency (Spain)
Nicola La Palombara, IASF-CNR (Italy)
A. de Luca, IASF-CNR (Italy)
David H. Lumb, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
Silvano Molendi, IASF-CNR (Italy)
Doris Neumann, CEA Saclay (France)
Jean Luc Sauvageot, CEA Saclay (France)
Richard Saxton, European Space Agency (Spain)
Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Steve Sembay, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)
Andrea Tiengo, European Space Agency (Spain)
IASF-CNR (Spain)
Martin J. L. Turner, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4851:
X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Telescopes and Instruments for Astronomy
Joachim E. Truemper; Harvey D. Tananbaum, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top