Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Processes of the formation of HgBr and HgCl excimer molecules in gas-discharge radiation sources
Author(s): A. N. Malinin; N. N. Guivan; Ludwig L. Shimon; A. V. Polyak; Nikolai Zubrilin; A. I. Shchedrin
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The additional processes of excitation of (formula available in paper) excimer molecules in gas-discharge plasma on (formula available in paper) mixtures have been investigated (together with dissociation of mercury dihalides by electronic shock, which is the basic process. The pumping of working mixtures was implemented by high- frequency (f equals 1000 Hz) barrier and surface discharges of nanosecond duration (approximately 100 ns), taking place simultaneously. The essential increase in the amplitude (up to 3 times), radiation pulse duration (up to 2 times) and their back edge (up to 15 times) has been revealed with the addition of molecular nitrogen in the (formula available in paper) working mixture, and also the difference in value of amplitudes of the first, second and third pulses have been revealed. It has been established, that the change in temporary radiation parameters is caused by the transfer of energy from molecular nitrogen in metastable state A3Σ μ at collisions with molecules of mercury dihalides. One more additional process, increasing the amplitude of the second and third radiation pulses both in the HgBr2/HgCl2/He mixtures, and in the HgBr2/HgCl2/N2/He mixtures is the excitation of the HgBr(X2Σ+12 and HgCl(X2Σ+12) radicals in the B2Σ+12-state by the electrons.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 March 2002
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 4747, International Conference on Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers IV, (26 March 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.460144
Show Author Affiliations
A. N. Malinin, Uzhgorod National Univ. (Ukraine)
N. N. Guivan, Uzhgorod National Univ. (Ukraine)
Ludwig L. Shimon, Uzhgorod National Univ. (Ukraine)
A. V. Polyak, Uzhgorod National Univ. (Ukraine)
Nikolai Zubrilin, Institute of Physics (Ukraine)
A. I. Shchedrin, Institute of Physics (Ukraine)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4747:
International Conference on Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers IV
Victor F. Tarasenko; Georgy V. Mayer; Gueorgii G. Petrash, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top