Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

ARAGO: a robotic observatory for the variable sky
Author(s): Michel Boer; Agnes Acker; Jean-Luc Atteia; Gilles Buchholtz; Francois Colas; Magali Deleuil; Michel Dennefeld; Jean-Michel Desert; Noel Dolez; J. Eysseric; Roger Ferlet; Marc Ferrari; Pierre Jean; Alain Klotz; Driss Kouach; Alain Lecavelier des Etangs; Gerard R. Lemaitre; Alexandre Marcowith; Jean-Babtiste Marquette; Jean-Pierre Meunier; Robert Mochkovitch; Reynald Pain; Laurent Pares; Henri Pinna; Roger Pinna; Lionel Provost; Sylvie Roques; Jean Schneider; Jean-Pierre Sivan; Caroline Soubiran; Carole Thiebaut; Gerard Vauclair; Richard Verchere; Alfred Vidal-Madjar
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present the Advanced Robotic Agile Observatory (ARAGO), a project for a large variability survey of the sky, in the range 10-8Hz (year) to 1Hz. Among its scientific objectives are the detection of cosmic gamma-ray bursts, both on alert and serendipitously, orphan afterglows, extrasolar planets, AGNs, quasar microlensing, variable and flare stars, trans-neptunian asteroids, Earth-grazers, orbital debris, etc. A large Education and Public Outreach program will be an important part of the project. The telescope itself will be made of Silicon Carbide, allowing, among other advantages, a very light weight and agile capabilities. ARAGO will be fully autonomous, i.e. there will be no human intervention from the request to the data processing and result dissemination, nor to assist night or day operations. ARAGO will start routine observation by mid-2005.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 December 2002
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4836, Survey and Other Telescope Technologies and Discoveries, (24 December 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.457013
Show Author Affiliations
Michel Boer, OMP/ULP/CNRS (France)
Agnes Acker, Observatoire de Strasbourg (France)
Jean-Luc Atteia, Ctr. d'Etude Spatiale des Rayonnements (France)
Gilles Buchholtz, INSU (France)
Francois Colas, CNRS (France)
Magali Deleuil, CNRS (France)
Michel Dennefeld, Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris (France)
Jean-Michel Desert, Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris (France)
Noel Dolez, CNRS (France)
J. Eysseric, CNRS (France)
Roger Ferlet, CNRS (France)
Marc Ferrari, Observatoire Astronomique de Marseille-Provence (France)
Pierre Jean, Ctr. d'Etude Spatiale des Rayonnements (France)
Alain Klotz, Ctr. d'Etude Spatial des Rayonnements (France)
Driss Kouach, CNRS (France)
Alain Lecavelier des Etangs, CNRS (France)
Gerard R. Lemaitre, Observatoire de Marseille (France)
Alexandre Marcowith, Ctr. d'Etude Spatiale des Rayonnements (France)
Jean-Babtiste Marquette, CNRS (France)
Jean-Pierre Meunier, CNRS (France)
Robert Mochkovitch, CNRS (France)
Reynald Pain, Institut National de Physique Nucleaire et des Phy (France)
Laurent Pares, CNRS (France)
Henri Pinna, CEMES/CNRS (France)
Roger Pinna, Institut Univ. de Technologie de Tarbes (France)
Lionel Provost, CNRS (France)
Sylvie Roques, Lab. d'Astronomie de Toulouse (France)
Jean Schneider, Lab. Univers et Theories (France)
Jean-Pierre Sivan, CNRS (France)
Caroline Soubiran, CNRS (France)
Carole Thiebaut, CNRS (France)
Gerard Vauclair, CNRS (France)
Richard Verchere, Institut Univ. de Technologie de Tarbes (France)
Alfred Vidal-Madjar, CNRS (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4836:
Survey and Other Telescope Technologies and Discoveries
J. Anthony Tyson; Sidney Wolff, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top