Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Photoconductivity and charge-carrier photogeneration in photorefractive polymers
Author(s): Thomas K. Daeubler; Lazar Kulikovsky; Dieter Neher; Vera Cimrova; Jan C. Hummelen; Erwin Mecher; Reinhard Bittner; Klaus Meerholz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We have studied photogeneration, transport, trapping and recombination as the governing mechanisms for the saturation field strength and the time response of the photorefractive (PR) effect in PVK-based PR materials, utilizing xerographic discharge and photoconductivity experiments. Both the charge carrier photogeneration efficiency and the photocurrent efficiency were found to be independent of chromophore content, suggesting that the chromophore does not participate in carrier generation and trapping. The photoconductivity gain factor G defined as the number of charge carriers measured in photoconductivity in relation to the number of carriers initially photogenerated as determined by the xerographic experiments is found to be much smaller than unity, which indicates that the mean free path of the photogenerated charge carriers is less than the grating period. Photoconductivity data can be explained over 3 orders of magnitude in field, assuming a field-independent trap density. Based on the photoelectric data, PR response times have been predicted by Yeh's model for the build-up of space or by calculating the time, which is necessary to fill all traps by photogenerated holes. Only the latter model can reasonably well explain the observed field dependence of the PR growth time, suggesting that trap-filling essentially controls the PR onset behavior.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 January 2002
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4462, Nonlinear Optical Transmission Processes and Organic Photorefractive Materials, (16 January 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.452736
Show Author Affiliations
Thomas K. Daeubler, Schott Spezielglas GmbH (Germany)
Lazar Kulikovsky, Univ. Potsdam (Germany)
Dieter Neher, Univ. Potsdam (Germany)
Vera Cimrova, Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry (Czech Republic)
Jan C. Hummelen, Univ. of Groningen (Netherlands)
Erwin Mecher, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Reinhard Bittner, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Klaus Meerholz, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4462:
Nonlinear Optical Transmission Processes and Organic Photorefractive Materials
Christopher M. Lawson; Klaus Meerholz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top