Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Flash x-ray sources powered by Blumlein pulsers: review and prospect for x rays with 100-ps switching
Author(s): Farzin Davanloo; Carl B. Collins; Forrest Jack Agee
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The flash x-ray systems developed at the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) center around two critical subassemblies: (1) a Blumlein pulsed power source, and (2) an x-ray diode properly designed and matched to the pulse forming line. The pulse generator consists of either a single or several traxial Blumleins. For multiple lines, Blumleins are stacked in series at one end and charged in parallel and synchronously commutated with a single switching element at the other end. Extensive characterizations of these Blumlein pulsers have been performed over the past several years. Results indicate that they are capable of producing high power waveforms with risetimes and repetition rates in the range of 0.1-50 ns and 1-300 Hz, respectively, using a conventional thyratron, spark gap, or photoconductive switch. Blumlein pulsers switched by a thyratron or a spark gap have been used to drive x-ray diode loads with different characteristics and discharge geometries and high dose rates of x-rays with pulse durations in the range 3-20 ns have been obtained. In this report the technology and characteristics of these Blumlein based flash x-ray devices are reviewed. Prospects for producing ultra-fast x-ray pulses utilizing photoconductively-switched Blumlein devices are discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 November 2002
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4786, Penetrating Radiation Systems and Applications IV, (26 November 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.451706
Show Author Affiliations
Farzin Davanloo, Univ. of Texas/Dallas (United States)
Carl B. Collins, Univ. of Texas/Dallas (United States)
Forrest Jack Agee, Air Force Office of Scientific Research (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4786:
Penetrating Radiation Systems and Applications IV
H. Bradford Barber; Hans Roehrig; F. Patrick Doty; Lisa J. Porter; Edward J. Morton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top