Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Dark current transport mechanisms in narrow-gap heterojunctions for IR arrays
Author(s): Fiodor F. Sizov; Joanna V. Gumenjuk-Sichevskaya; Yuri G. Sidorov; Vladimir Vasilev; Alexandr G. Golenkov; Vyacheslav V. Zabudsky; Vladimir P. Reva; Yurii P. Derkach; Vladimir V. Tetyorkin
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Dark carrier transport mechanisms in narrow-gap Hg1-xCdxTe multilayer structures and Pb1-zSnzTe/PbTe1-yS(Se)y heterojunctions at T~80 K for applications in IR arrays are analyzed and compared with homojunction mercury-cadmium telluride (MCT) photodiode characteristics in the temperature range T~70-150 K. In the analysis procedure two major current mechanisms were included into the current balance equations: trap-assisted tunneling (TAT) and Shockley-Reed-Hall (SRH) generation-recombination processes for a defect trap level. Other current mechanisms (e.g., band-to-band tunneling, bulk diffusion) were taken into account as additive contributions. For TAT the tunneling rate characteristics were calculated within the k-p-approximation. Using donor and acceptor concentrations, trap level energies and concentrations, and in-junction trap level lifetimes as fitting parameters, good agreement with experimental data for HgCdTe and PbSnTe heterojunction and homojunction diodes was obtained, which allows one to predict the diode parameters from the known material characteristics. Photodiode or array parameters itself, or with CCD readouts, or CCD readouts separately were tested to study the influence of readout cascade on the diodes' properties.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 November 2001
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4454, Materials for Infrared Detectors, (12 November 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.448168
Show Author Affiliations
Fiodor F. Sizov, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Joanna V. Gumenjuk-Sichevskaya, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Yuri G. Sidorov, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Russia)
Vladimir Vasilev, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Russia)
Alexandr G. Golenkov, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Vyacheslav V. Zabudsky, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Vladimir P. Reva, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Yurii P. Derkach, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)
Vladimir V. Tetyorkin, Institute of Semiconductor Physics (Ukraine)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4454:
Materials for Infrared Detectors
Randolph E. Longshore, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top