Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

YBaCuO uncooled microbolometer IRFPA
Author(s): Hideo Wada; Takanori Sone; Hisatoshi Hata; Yoshiyuki Nakaki; Osamu Kaneda; Yasuaki Ohta; Masashi Ueno; Masafumi Kimata
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Because the semiconducting YBaCuO films which are fabricated by sputtering have a temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR) over 3%/K at room temperature, they are considered to be candidates for bolometer materials of uncooled infrared (IR) detectors. There is a problem, however, in that the resistivity of the films is over 10 (Omega) cm, which is two orders of magnitude higher than that of conventional VOX bolometer films. To decrease the resistance of the bolometers, we researched sputtering conditions of the YBaCuO films and combined them with comb-shaped electrodes. When the YBaCuO film was deposited on these electrodes by RF magnetron sputtering at room temperature in an atmosphere of 2% O2 and 98% Ar, it showed a resistivity of 90 Ωcm and a TCR of -3.2%/K; ultimately the YBaCuO bolometer resistance became 82 k(Omega) using the comb-shaped electrodes. The YBaCuO bolometer detector that contains an infrared absorbing membrane achieved a high fill factor of 90% and high infrared absorptance of 79%. Moreover, the detector showed a thermal conductance of 1.3x10-7 W/K and a responsivity of 6.8x105 V/W in a vacuum. The YBaCuO microbolometer FPA which we have developed has an array format of 320x240 pixels and a pixel pitch of 40 μm. The FPA showed a noise equivalent temperature difference (NETD) of 0.08 K with a prototype camera and f/1.0 optics.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 October 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4369, Infrared Technology and Applications XXVII, (10 October 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.445342
Show Author Affiliations
Hideo Wada, Japan Defense Agency (Japan)
Takanori Sone, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Hisatoshi Hata, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Yoshiyuki Nakaki, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Osamu Kaneda, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Yasuaki Ohta, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Masashi Ueno, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)
Masafumi Kimata, Mitsubishi Electric Corp. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4369:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXVII
Bjorn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Marija Strojnik, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top