Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Experimental laser interstitial thermotherapy in ex-vivo porcine tissue at 940 nm
Author(s): Nelson Salas; Fabrice Manns; Jean-Marie A. Parel; Peter J. Milne; Manuel Figueroa; David B. Denham; David S. Robinson
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Purpose: the purpose of these experiments was to evaluate the temperature and predicted cell kill distribution during LITT of breast tissue phantoms at 940nm and compare with the results of previous experiments ar 830 nm and 980 nm. Material and Methods: A Dornier Medilas D Skinpulse 940 nm diode lase system coupled to a Dornier D-6111-T2 fiber (Dornier Surgical Products, Phoenix, AZ) was used to irradiate the porcine tissue three times at approximately 5 W for 10 minutes. Results: The initial rate of temperature increase at 940 nm for locations 5, 10, and 15 mm from the fiber axis ranged from 0.076 to 0.142 °C/s, 0.027 to 0.041 °C/s, and 0.008 to 0.013 °C/s, respectively, wile the maximum temperature increase ranged from 37.8 to 46.9 °C, 19.3 to 26.1 °C, 8.6 to 13.0 °C, respectively, temperature curves hed lower slopes at 940 nm than at 830 nm and 980 nm. the maximum temperature increase was higher at 940 nm than at 830 nm. Predicted area of 100% cell kill was approximately 2 cm by 2 cm Conclusion: Results of experiments at 940 nm were more comparable to those at 980 nm than at 830 nm.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 June 2002
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 4609, Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XII, (17 June 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.438871
Show Author Affiliations

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4609:
Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XII
Lawrence S. Bass; Eugene A. Trowers; Kenneth Eugene Bartels; Udayan K. Shah; David S. Robinson; Lawrence S. Bass; Kenton W. Gregory; Kenneth Eugene Bartels; Lawrence S. Bass; Brian Jet-Fei Wong; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; Lloyd P. Tate; Nikiforos Kollias; Abraham Katzir; Timothy A. Woodward; Werner T.W. de Riese; George M. Peavy; Werner T.W. de Riese; Kenton W. Gregory; Michael D. Lucroy; Abraham Katzir; Nikiforos Kollias; Michael D. Lucroy; Reza S. Malek; George M. Peavy; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; David S. Robinson; Udayan K. Shah; Lloyd P. Tate; Eugene A. Trowers; Brian Jet-Fei Wong; Timothy A. Woodward, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top