Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

IBM 193-nm bilayer resist: materials, lithographic performance, and optimization
Author(s): Ranee W. Kwong; Pushkara Rao Varanasi; Margaret C. Lawson; Timothy Hughes; George M. Jordhamo; Mahmoud Khojasteh; Arpan P. Mahorowala; Ratnam Sooriyakumaran; Phillip J. Brock; Carl E. Larson; Debra Fenzel-Alexander; Hoa D. Truong; Robert D. Allen
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

193nm lithography will be the future technology for sub- 150nm resolution. As the dimensions get smaller, resist thickness is also needed to be reduced for better resolution and wider process window. Single layer 193nm resist, with thickness of less than 500nm, may not be able to satisfy some of the substrate etch requirement. With bilayer resist scheme, the thin resist offers the advantages of high resolution and good process window. The thick underlayer provides the etch resistance required for substrate etching. IBM has developed a silane substituted alternating copolymer based 193nm bilayer resist system and demonstrates sub-120nm resolution using Nikon 0.6NA stepper with Chrome on Glass (COG) mask. Lithographic performance and formulation optimizations of this 193nm bilayer resist as well as underlayer evaluation and some etch study will be discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 August 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4345, Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XVIII, (24 August 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.436892
Show Author Affiliations
Ranee W. Kwong, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Pushkara Rao Varanasi, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Margaret C. Lawson, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Timothy Hughes, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
George M. Jordhamo, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Mahmoud Khojasteh, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Arpan P. Mahorowala, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)
Ratnam Sooriyakumaran, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Phillip J. Brock, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Carl E. Larson, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Debra Fenzel-Alexander, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Hoa D. Truong, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)
Robert D. Allen, IBM Almaden Research Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4345:
Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XVIII
Francis M. Houlihan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top