Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

40-Gb/s electroabsorption-modulated NRZ and RZ sources
Author(s): T. G. Beck Mason; Abdallah Ougazzaden; Charles W. Lentz; Kenneth G. Glogovsky; C. Lewis Reynolds; George J. Przybylek; Ronald E. Leibenguth; Terry L. Kercher; John W. Boardman; Michael T. Rader; J. Michael Geary; Frank S. Walters; Larry J. Peticolas; James M. Freund; George Chu; Andrei Sirenko; Ronald J. Jurcehnko; Mark S. Hybertsen; Leonard J. P. Ketelsen; Gregory Raybon
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Electro-absorption modulated sources are likely to be key components in the evolution of optical communication line rates from 10Gb/s to 40 Gb/s. Compared with the LiNbO3 alternative EA modulators are more compact, less expensive, compatible with monolithic integration, and offer lower drive voltages. However, fabrication complexity and open questions concerning the fidelity with which they transmit information make the exact role of 40Gb/s EA modulators in advanced communication systems somewhat unclear. In this talk we will describe the design, fabrication and transmission performance of 40Gb/s EA modulators configured for both NRZ and RZ operation. For NRZ transmission the device structure consists of a short MQW modulator with spot-size converters on the input and output ends. Tandem EA modulators for pulse carver and data encoder functions were monolithically integrated along with a semiconductor optical amplifier and input/output spot-size converters to explore RZ transmission. Both single and tandem modulator design are realized using semi-insulting InP current confined buried heterostructure technology. Modulation bandwidth of better than 50 GHz is demonstrated along with a fiber-to-fiber insertion loss of less than 6 dB for the single modulator design. The carver/encoder configuration with onboard SOA yields better than 0 dB insertion loss. Transmission impairments were studies using both designs.

Paper Details

Date Published: 30 July 2001
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 4532, Active and Passive Optical Components for WDM Communication, (30 July 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.435995
Show Author Affiliations
T. G. Beck Mason, Agere Systems (United States)
Abdallah Ougazzaden, Agere Systems (United States)
Charles W. Lentz, Agere Systems (United States)
Kenneth G. Glogovsky, Agere Systems (United States)
C. Lewis Reynolds, Agere Systems (United States)
George J. Przybylek, Agere Systems (United States)
Ronald E. Leibenguth, Agere Systems (United States)
Terry L. Kercher, Agere Systems (United States)
John W. Boardman, Agere Systems (United States)
Michael T. Rader, Agere Systems (United States)
J. Michael Geary, Agere Systems (United States)
Frank S. Walters, Agere Systems (United States)
Larry J. Peticolas, Agere Systems (United States)
James M. Freund, Agere Systems (United States)
George Chu, Agere Systems (United States)
Andrei Sirenko, Agere Systems (United States)
Ronald J. Jurcehnko, Agere Systems (United States)
Mark S. Hybertsen, Agere Systems (United States)
Leonard J. P. Ketelsen, Agere Systems (United States)
Gregory Raybon, Lucent Technologies (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4532:
Active and Passive Optical Components for WDM Communication
Achyut Kumar Dutta; Abdul Ahad Sami Awwal; Niloy K. Dutta; Katsunari Okamoto, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top