Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Laser soldering of the cornea in a rabbit model using a controlled-temperature CO2 laser system
Author(s): Eyal Strassman; Nino Loya; Dan D. Gaton; Avi Ravid; Noam Kariv; Dov Weinberger; Abraham Katzir
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

This study was to determine the feasibility and reproducibility of laser welding of cornea with a CO2 laser system capable of real times infrared fiberoptic radiometric control of tissue temperature. A fiberoptic radiometric temperature control system for the CO2 10.6 micrometers laser was developed that enabled a real time nontactile temperature measurement of welding surface. The system was tested on the cornea in 40 in vitro bovine eyes, and also in 6 in vivo corneas of rabbit eyes. Welds performed at a set point temperature of 65 degree(s)C, with or without adjuvant 50% albumin solder. Leaking pressure, surgical time and histologic evaluation were determined for welding and for suturing controls of 6 mm central corneal perforating cuts.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 May 2001
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 4244, Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XI, (21 May 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.427799
Show Author Affiliations
Eyal Strassman, Rabin Medical Ctr./Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Nino Loya, Rabin Medical Ctr./Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Dan D. Gaton, Rabin Medical Ctr./Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Avi Ravid, Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Noam Kariv, Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Dov Weinberger, Rabin Medical Ctr./Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)
Abraham Katzir, Tel Aviv Univ. (Israel)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4244:
Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XI
Lawrence S. Bass; David S. Robinson; Eugene A. Trowers; Kenton W. Gregory; Lou Reinisch; Kenneth Eugene Bartels; R. Rox Anderson; Reza S. Malek; Kenneth Eugene Bartels; Lloyd P. Tate; Abraham Katzir; C. Gaelyn Garrett; Timothy A. Woodward; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; George M. Peavy; Lawrence S. Bass; C. Gaelyn Garrett; Michael D. Lucroy; Kenton W. Gregory; Abraham Katzir; Nikiforos Kollias; Michael D. Lucroy; Reza S. Malek; J. Stuart Nelson; George M. Peavy; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; Lou Reinisch; David S. Robinson; Lloyd P. Tate; Eugene A. Trowers; Timothy A. Woodward, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top