Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Electrostatically vacuum-sealed tunneling magnetic field sensors
Author(s): Heung-Woo Park; Byeong-Kwon Ju; Duk-Jung Lee; Jung-Ho Park; Myung-Hwan Oh
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

This work reports the tunneling effects of the lateral field emitters. Tunneling effect is applicable to the VMFS(vacuum magnetic field sensors). VMFS uses the fact that the trajectory of the emitted electrons are curved by the magnetic field due to Lorentz force. Poly-silicon cantilevers were used as field emitters and anode materials. Thickness of the emitter and the anode were 2μm, respectively. PSG(phospho-silicate-glass) was used as a sacrificial layer and it was etched by HF. Cantilevers were doped with POCl3(1020cm3). 2μm-thick cantilevers were fabricated onto PSG(2μm-thick). Sublimation drying method was used at releasing step to avoid stiction. Then, the device was vacuum sealed. Device was fixed to a sodalime-glass#1 with silver paste and it was wire bonded. Glass#1 has a predefined hole and a sputtered silicon-film at backside. The front-side of the device was sealed with a sodalime-glass#2 using the glass frit. After getter insertion via the hole, backside of the glass#1 was sealed electrostatically with a sodalime-glass#3 at 10-6 torr. After sealing, getter was activated. Sealing was successful to operate the tunneling device. The packaged VMFS showed reduced emission current compared with the chamber test prior to sealing. The emission currents were changed when the magnetic field was induced. A VMFS of angular anodes were tested and its sensitivity was about 3%.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 March 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4236, Smart Electronics and MEMS II, (16 March 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.418776
Show Author Affiliations
Heung-Woo Park, Korea Institute of Science and Technology and Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Byeong-Kwon Ju, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
Duk-Jung Lee, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
Jung-Ho Park, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Myung-Hwan Oh, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4236:
Smart Electronics and MEMS II
Derek Abbott; Vijay K. Varadan; Karl F. Boehringer, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top