Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Measurements of water vapor, surface ozone, and ethylene using differential absorption lidar
Author(s): Sohan Lal Jain; B. C. Arya; Arun Kumar
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The measurement of various minor constituents in the atmosphere is of great significance to understand physics, Chemistry and dynamics of the atmosphere. Ozone in the troposphere is one of the most important trace species as it is a greenhouse gas trapping the longwave radiation in 9.6 ?m band affecting the energy budget of the earthatmosphere system. It is also a pollutant produced as a result of anthropogenic activities such as fossil fuel burning and has potential to affect human health and vegetation if it is allowed to attain high concentrations. Water vapour also plays a significant role in climate studies and the chemistry of the atmosphere. Ethylene is an urban pollutant and its concentration as low as 10 ppb is toxic to plants. A differential absorption lidar system using a tunable CO2 laser has been designed and developed at National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, to monitor various minor constituents in the atmosphere. Some times ethylene concentration was found to be more than 20 ppb while that of surface ozone was more than 140 ppb which is a health hazard. In this paper salient features of experimental set up and results obtained will be presented in detail.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 February 2001
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4153, Lidar Remote Sensing for Industry and Environment Monitoring, (13 February 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.417060
Show Author Affiliations
Sohan Lal Jain, National Physical Lab. (India)
B. C. Arya, National Physical Lab. (India)
Arun Kumar, National Physical Lab. (India)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4153:
Lidar Remote Sensing for Industry and Environment Monitoring
Upendra N. Singh; Upendra N. Singh; Kazuhiro Asai; Toshikasu Itabe; Toshihiro Ogawa; Nobuo Sugimoto, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top