Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Time-resolved x-ray diffraction with subpicosecond x-ray pulses
Author(s): Ingo Uschmann; Eckhart Foerster; Paul Gibbon; Christian Reich; Thomas Feurer; Andreas Morak; Roland A. Sauerbrey; Antoine Rousse; Patrick Audebert; Jean-Paul Geindre; Jean-Claude J. Gauthier
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The emission from plasmas created with fs-lasers provides sub-picosecond x-ray pulses in the keV-range. Intense emission of K(alpha) lines as well as quasi continuum x-rays can be used for time-resolved diffraction and spectroscopy, i.e. to study lattice or atomic dynamics with sub-picosecond resolution by using a laser pump x-ray probe technique. The x-ray yield and x-ray pulse duration of the laser plasma source depend on the laser parameters and the target design, such as intensity, laser wavelength, pulse duration and prepulse level. To accumulate as many photons as possible of the isotropic source an efficient large aperture optic has to be used to select an x-ray line or a wavelength range and focus the radiation onto the sample. It is shown that the use of toroidally bent crystals provides the possibility to refocus 10-4 of the photons emitted in the whole solid angel to spot size of around 80 micrometers with a temporal broadening below 100 fs. Combinations of bent focusing crystals with a flat sample crystal for fast x-ray diffraction application are discussed. Experiments showing the temporal response of laser heated crystals are presented and compared with theoretical simulations based on Takagi-Taupin theory.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 January 2001
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 4143, X-Ray FEL Optics and Instrumentation, (25 January 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.413678
Show Author Affiliations
Ingo Uschmann, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Eckhart Foerster, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Paul Gibbon, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Christian Reich, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Thomas Feurer, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Andreas Morak, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Roland A. Sauerbrey, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Antoine Rousse, Ecole Nationale Superieure de Techniques Avancees (France)
Patrick Audebert, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
Jean-Paul Geindre, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
Jean-Claude J. Gauthier, Ecole Polytechnique (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4143:
X-Ray FEL Optics and Instrumentation
Dennis M. Mills; Horst Schulte-Schrepping; John R. Arthur, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top