Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

X-ray measurements of the supermirror using synchrotron radiation
Author(s): Takashi Okajima; Satoshi Ichimaru; Keisuke Tamura; Kazutoshi Haga; Yasushi Ogasaka; S. Takahashi; Shinichi Fukuda; Hideo Kitou; Arifumi Gotou; Yuzuru Tawara; Koujun Yamashita; Yoshiyuki Tsusaka; S. Takeda; Hideyo Kunieda
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We measured Pt/C multilayers and supermirrors with hard X-rays at synchrotron radiation facility SPring-8. These mirrors were fabricated for the hard X-ray telescope on board our balloon- borne experiment named InFOC(mu) S. The energy band of InFOC(mu) S telescope is from 20 to 40 keV, thus characterization of reflectors with hard X-rays above 20 keV is important. SPring-8 is one of the world's most powerful third-generation synchrotron radiation facility. We measured multilayers and several types of supermirrors. We also measured reflectivity of supermirrors on three different kind of substrates; float grass, gold replica foil and platinum replica foil. From the reflectivity measurements, performance of these supermirrors was found quite satisfactory for our telescope. Furthermore platinum replica foil substrate showed significantly better reflectivity than gold replica foil. Thus we chose platinum replica foil as a substrate for flight reflectors. Scattering measurements gave us important informations. Our preliminary analysis showed that the scattered power distribution can be explained as a convolution of structures in lateral and depth direction.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 January 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4145, Advances in X-Ray Optics, (5 January 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.411657
Show Author Affiliations
Takashi Okajima, Nagoya Univ. (United States)
Satoshi Ichimaru, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Keisuke Tamura, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Kazutoshi Haga, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Yasushi Ogasaka, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
S. Takahashi, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Shinichi Fukuda, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Hideo Kitou, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Arifumi Gotou, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Yuzuru Tawara, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Koujun Yamashita, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Yoshiyuki Tsusaka, Himeji Institute of Technology (Japan)
S. Takeda, Himeji Institute of Technology (Japan)
Hideyo Kunieda, Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4145:
Advances in X-Ray Optics
Alan G. Michette; Andreas K. Freund; Tetsuya Ishikawa; Sebastian Oestreich; Derrick C. Mancini; Ali M. Khounsary; Derrick C. Mancini; Alan G. Michette; Sebastian Oestreich, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top