Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

New MCT focal plane array IR detection modules and digital signal processing technologies at AIM
Author(s): Wolfgang A. Cabanski; Rainer Breiter; Karl-Heinz Mauk; Werner Rode; Richard Wollrab; Johann Ziegler; Kurt Eberhardt; Reinhard Oelmaier
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Full video format focal plane array (FPA) modules with up to 640 x 512 for high resolution imaging applications in either mercury cadmium telluride (MCT) mid wave (MWIR) infrared (IR) or platinum silicide (PtSi) and quantum well infrared photodetector (QWIP) technology as low cost alternatives to MCT for high performance IR imaging in the MWIR or long wave spectral band (LWIR) have been presented in several earlier publications. MCT units provide fast frame rates >100Hz together with state of the art thermal resolution NETD <20mK for short snapshot integration times of typically 2ms. PtSi and QWIP modules need longer integration times and are usually operated at frame rates of 30-60Hz to provide thermal resolutions of NETD <80mK for PtSi and NETD <20mK for QWIP, respectively. Presently, 2 new MCT detection modules are under development to provide lower geometrical resolution but much faster frame rates and dual color capability. The modules are specifically useful for missile seeker and ir search and track (IRST) applications where fast frame rates are needed or where dual color capability helps to suppress clutter, detect specific ir signatures or discriminates camouflaged targets. A high speed device with 256x256 pixels in a 40micrometers pitch is designed to provide up to 800Hz full frame rate with pixel rates as high as 80Mpixels/s.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 December 2000
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4130, Infrared Technology and Applications XXVI, (15 December 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.409843
Show Author Affiliations
Wolfgang A. Cabanski, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Rainer Breiter, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Karl-Heinz Mauk, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Werner Rode, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Richard Wollrab, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Johann Ziegler, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Kurt Eberhardt, TEMIC Semiconductors GmbH (Germany)
Reinhard Oelmaier, TEMIC Semiconductors GmbH (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4130:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXVI
Bjorn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Marija Strojnik, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top