Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High-resolution gamma-ray spectrometers using bulk absorbers coupled to Mo/Cu multilayer superconducting transition-edge sensors
Author(s): Daniel T. Chow; Alex Loshak; Marcel L. van den Berg; Matthias A. Frank; Troy W. Barbee; Simon E. Labov
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In x-ray and gamma-ray spectroscopy, it is desirable to have detectors with high energy resolution and high absorption efficiency. At LLNL, we have developed superconducting tunnel junction-based single photon x-ray detectors with thin film absorbers that have achieved these goals for photon energies up to 1 keV. However, for energies above 1 keV, the absorption efficiency of these thin-film detectors decreases drastically. We are developing the use of high-purity superconducting bulk materials as microcalorimeter absorbers for high-energy x-rays and gamma rays. The increase in absorber temperature due to incident photons is sensed by a superconducting transition- edge sensor (TES) composed of a Mo/Cu multilayer thin film. Films of Mo and Cu are mutually insoluble and therefore very stable and can be annealed. The multilayer structure allows scaling in thickness to optimize heat capacity and normal state resistance. We measured an energy resolution of 70 eV for 60 keV incident gamma-rays with a 1 X 1 X 0.25 mm3 Sn absorber. We present x-ray and gamma-ray results from this detector design with an Sn absorber. We also propose the use of an active negative feedback voltage bias to improve the performance of our detector and show preliminary results.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 November 2000
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4141, Hard X-Ray, Gamma-Ray, and Neutron Detector Physics II, (21 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.407605
Show Author Affiliations
Daniel T. Chow, Univ. of California/Davis and Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Alex Loshak, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Marcel L. van den Berg, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Matthias A. Frank, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Troy W. Barbee, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Simon E. Labov, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4141:
Hard X-Ray, Gamma-Ray, and Neutron Detector Physics II
Ralph B. James; Richard C. Schirato, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top