Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Calibration of photoelastic modulators in the vacuum UV
Author(s): Theodore C. Oakberg; John G. Trunk; John Clark Sutherland
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Measurements of circular dichroism (CD) in the UV and vacuum UV have used photoelastic modulators (PEMs) for high sensitivity (to about 10-6). While a simple technique for wavelength calibration of the PEMs has been used with good results, several features of these calibration curves have not been understood. The authors have calibrated a calcium fluoride PEM and a lithium fluoride PEM using the National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS) at Brookhaven National Laboratory as a light source. These experiments showed calibration graphs that are linear but do not pass through the graph origin. A second “multiple pass” experiment with laser light of a single wavelength, performed on the calcium fluoride PEM, demonstrates the linearity of the PEM electronics. This implies that the calibration behavior results from intrinsic physical properties of the PEM optical element material. An algorithm for generating calibration curves for calcium fluoride and lithium fluoride PEMs has been developed. The calibration curves for circular dichroism measurement for the two PEMs investigated in this study are given as examples.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 November 2000
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4133, Polarization Analysis, Measurement, and Remote Sensing III, (15 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.406617
Show Author Affiliations
Theodore C. Oakberg, Hinds Instruments, Inc. (United States)
John G. Trunk, Brookhaven National Lab. (United States)
John Clark Sutherland, Brookhaven National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4133:
Polarization Analysis, Measurement, and Remote Sensing III
David B. Chenault; Walter G. Egan; Michael J. Duggin; Michael J. Duggin; Walter G. Egan; Dennis H. Goldstein, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top