Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Structure of the Mueller calculus
Author(s): Russell A. Chipman
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The sixteen elements of the Mueller matrix are associated with sixteen degrees of freedom, seven nonpolarizing, and nine depolarizing degrees of freedom. Combinations of polarization elements are associated with all the degrees of freedom demonstrating that physically realizable polarization elements span all sixteen degrees. Two alternative polarization basis states are introduced.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 November 2000
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4133, Polarization Analysis, Measurement, and Remote Sensing III, (15 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.406612
Show Author Affiliations
Russell A. Chipman, E-TEK Dynamics (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4133:
Polarization Analysis, Measurement, and Remote Sensing III
David B. Chenault; Michael J. Duggin; Walter G. Egan; Dennis H. Goldstein; Walter G. Egan; Michael J. Duggin, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top