Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Toward morphologically stable photorefractive composites: a comparative study of ATOP/PVK-based materials
Author(s): Erwin Mecher; Francisco Gallego-Gomez; Christoph R. Braeuchle; Klaus Meerholz; Ruediger W. Wortmann; Sheng Yao; A. Sautter; Frank Wuerthner
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

For the highly dipolar merocyanine chromophore ATOP, which exhibits a high polarizability anisotropy, material related properties were optimized by substituent variations at four different positions of the pr-conjugated core. Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) and solubility studies in the model solvent N,N'-dimethylaniline showed a significant influence of the substituents. Thus almost unlimited solubility in N,N'-dimethylaniline and the formation of kinetically stable amorphous glasses was observed for the dye ATOP—4 whereas the parent dye ATOP—5 was a high melting and almost insoluble solid. The more soluble and lower melting derivatives ATOP—3, ATOP—4, ATOP—8 and ATOP—9 all showed a high compatibility with the photoconducting polymer poly(N-vinylcarbazole) which allowed to prepare composites containing up to 50 %wt of the respective dye. For these composites pronounced photorefractive effects were measured with index modulation ofup to zln 7 x iO and gain coefficients ofup to r= 180 cm1 at electrical fields ofonly E —35 I For the composites of ATOP—4 no evidence for crystallization or phase-separation could be observed over several months, demonstrating that also host-guest systems containing highly dipolar dye molecules may be optimized towards high morphological stability.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 November 2000
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4104, Organic Photorefractives, Photoreceptors, and Nanocomposites, (13 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.406476
Show Author Affiliations
Erwin Mecher, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Francisco Gallego-Gomez, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Christoph R. Braeuchle, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Klaus Meerholz, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (Germany)
Ruediger W. Wortmann, Univ. Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Sheng Yao, Univ. Ulm (Germany)
A. Sautter, Univ. Ulm (Germany)
Frank Wuerthner, Univ. Ulm (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4104:
Organic Photorefractives, Photoreceptors, and Nanocomposites
Keith L. Lewis; Klaus Meerholz; Klaus Meerholz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top