Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Variation of the glass transition temperature in organic photorefractive materials: plasticizer versus novel synthetic approaches
Author(s): Andre Leopold; Uwe Hofmann; M. Grasruck; Stephan J. Zilker; Dietrich Haarer; Jolita Ostrauskaite; Juozas V. Grazulevicius; Mukundan Thelakkat; Christoph Hohle; Peter Strohriegl; Hans-Werner Schmidt; Andreas Bacher; Donal D. C. Bradley; M. Redecker; Michael Inbasekaran; Weishi W. Wu; Edmund P. Woo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Most photorefractive (PR) materials require plasticizers in order to decrease the glass transition temperature, allowing for orientational enhancement by the chromophores. Introduction of the plasticizer, however, alters not only the viscosity but also the photoconductive properties of the material. This can be shown by comparing two different plasticizers which were introduced into a bifunctional low-molecular-weight PR glass and into a polyfluorene guest-host polymer. The latter reaches response times down to 600 microsecond(s) at a writing intensity of 1 W/cm2. We have recently improved the concept of low-molecular-weight PR glasses. A suitable, photoconducting unit allows the synthesis of a bifunctional system with a glass transition of 22.6 degree(s)C. Therefore, no plasticizer is needed. The material is based on a triphenyldiamine (TPD) moiety to which a nonlinear-optical chromophore is directly attached. The system is the first representative of a whole class of TPD molecules and polymers for photorefractive applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 November 2000
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4104, Organic Photorefractives, Photoreceptors, and Nanocomposites, (13 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.406472
Show Author Affiliations
Andre Leopold, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Uwe Hofmann, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
M. Grasruck, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Stephan J. Zilker, Univ. Bayreuth (Netherlands)
Dietrich Haarer, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Jolita Ostrauskaite, Kaunas Univ. of Technology (Germany)
Juozas V. Grazulevicius, Kaunas Univ. of Technology (Lithuania)
Mukundan Thelakkat, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Christoph Hohle, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Peter Strohriegl, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Hans-Werner Schmidt, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Andreas Bacher, Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Donal D. C. Bradley, Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
M. Redecker, Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Michael Inbasekaran, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States)
Weishi W. Wu, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States)
Edmund P. Woo, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4104:
Organic Photorefractives, Photoreceptors, and Nanocomposites
Keith L. Lewis; Klaus Meerholz; Klaus Meerholz, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top