Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Reflective optically addressed FLC SLMs for dynamic holography
Author(s): Arkady P. Onokhov; Vladimir A. Berenberg; Leonid A. Bersnev; Aleksander N. Chaika; Nikolai A. Feoktistov; Mikhail V. Isaev; Elena A. Konshina
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The reflective type optically addressed spatial light modulators (OASLMs) with an amorphous hydrogenated carbon (a-C:H) light-blocking layer sandwiched between an intrinsic hydrogenated silicon carbide (A-Si:C:H) photoconductor and broad-band and narrow-band dielectric mirrors have been developed. FLC was used as a light modulating medium. The DHF effect in an FLC with tilt angle (Theta) equals 39 degree(s) and SS (Clark-Lagerwall) effect with angle 22.5 degree(s) were employed. The study showed that a flexible design of the OASLMs are possible. As a result of optimal design of the reflective type OASLMs with the dielectric mirrors of two types, the following performance characteristics have been obtained. Diffraction efficiency was about 30%, net diffraction efficiency (NE) was about 20% (spatial frequency equal 30 lp/mm and frame refreshment rate equal 200 Hz). Sensitivity was in the interval from 50 to 100 (mu) W/cm2, depending on the mirror type. NE equals 12.5% for spatial frequency 100 lp/mm. The results of our work show promise for the development of novel FLC OASLMs with a significant decrease in the loss of light, operating in reflective mode. This net diffraction efficiency practically does not depend on the direction of the reading-out light polarization for the OASLMs operating on the DHF mode.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 July 2000
PDF: 4 pages
Proc. SPIE 4046, Advances in Optical Information Processing IX, (13 July 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.391948
Show Author Affiliations
Arkady P. Onokhov, S.I. Vavilov State Optical Institute (Russia)
Vladimir A. Berenberg, Institute of Laser Physics (Russia)
Leonid A. Bersnev, Institute of Crystallography (United States)
Aleksander N. Chaika, S.I. Vavilov State Optical Institute (Russia)
Nikolai A. Feoktistov, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Mikhail V. Isaev, S.I. Vavilov State Optical Institute (Russia)
Elena A. Konshina, S.I. Vavilov State Optical Institute (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4046:
Advances in Optical Information Processing IX
Dennis R. Pape, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top