Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Plan of receiver development for ASTE/LMSA
Author(s): Yutaro Sekimoto; Takeshi Sakai; Gaku Saito; Kotaro Kohno; Hiroyuki Iwashita; Naohisa Satou; Toshikazu Takahashi; Takashi Noguchi; Ryohei Kawabe; Hiroyuki Maezawa; Tetsuya Ito; Satoshi Yamamoto
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present a plan of heterodyne receivers for Atacama Submillimeter Telescope Experiment (ASTE), which is one of Japanese R&D project of Large Millimeter Submillimeter Array (LMSA) and Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA). A new 10 m submillimeter-wave telescope has been pre-installed at Nobeyama since February 2000 and will be installed at Pampa la Bola (el. 4800 m) in northern Chile. The telescope has four receiver layouts: (1) A shaped Cassegrain optics was designed for the Nobeyama operation to achieve high beam-efficiency at millimeter-wave bands. (2) Normal Gaussian optics will be replaced for the Chile operation to optimize submillimeter- wave bands up to 850 GHz. (3) It is possible to install an ALMA prototype receiver at the focus of secondary reflector. (4) An optics for submillimeter SIS photon camera. We describe the 350 GHz receiver which noise temperature was around 55 K in the frequency band of 330 - 360 GHz. The temperature ripple at the 4 K stage of two stages Gifford-McMahon refrigerator has been reduced to be less than 10 mK by employing a He-pot temperature stabilizer.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 July 2000
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4015, Radio Telescopes, (3 July 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.390459
Show Author Affiliations
Yutaro Sekimoto, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Takeshi Sakai, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Gaku Saito, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Kotaro Kohno, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Hiroyuki Iwashita, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Naohisa Satou, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Toshikazu Takahashi, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Takashi Noguchi, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Ryohei Kawabe, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (Japan)
Hiroyuki Maezawa, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Tetsuya Ito, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Satoshi Yamamoto, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4015:
Radio Telescopes
Harvey R. Butcher, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top