Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The large adaptive reflector: a 200-m diameter wideband centimeter- to meter-wave radio telescope
Author(s): Brent Carlson; Luc Bauwens; Leonid Belostotski; Elizabeth Cannon; Ya-Ying Chang; Xiaohui Deng; Peter E. Dewdney; Joeleff T. Fitzsimmons; David J. Halliday; Kai Kuerschner; Gerard Lachapelle; David Lo; Pedram Mousavi; Meyer Nahon; Lot Shafai; Sigfried F. Stiemer; Russell Taylor; Bruce Veidt
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Large Adaptive Reflector (LAR) is a concept for a low- cost, large aperture, wideband, radio telescope, designed to operate over the wavelength range from 2 m to 1.4 cm. It consists of a 200-m diameter actuated-surface parabolic reflector with a focal length of 500 m, mounted flat on the ground. The feed is held in place by a tension-structure, consisting of three or more tethers tensioned by the lift of a large, helium-filled aerostat -- a stiff structure that effectively resists wind forces. The telescope is steered by simultaneously changing the lengths of the tethers with winches (thus the position of the feed) and by modifying the shape of the reflector. At all times the reflector configuration is that of an offset parabolic antenna, with the capability to point anywhere in the sky above approximately 15 degree Elevation Angle. At mid-range wavelengths, the feed is a multi-beam prime-focus phased array, about 5 m diameter; at meter wavelengths, it is a single-beam phased array of up to 10 m diameter. Simulations have shown that in operating wind conditions (10 m/s average speed with 2.5 m/s gusts), the position of the feed platform can be stabilized to within a few cm over time scales of approximately 20 s. Research indicates that the telescope concept is feasible and that an order of magnitude improvement in cost per m2 of collecting area over traditional designs of large parabolic antennas can be achieved.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 July 2000
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4015, Radio Telescopes, (3 July 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.390431
Show Author Affiliations
Brent Carlson, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics/National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Luc Bauwens, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
Leonid Belostotski, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Elizabeth Cannon, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
Ya-Ying Chang, Univ. of British Columbia (Canada)
Xiaohui Deng, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
Peter E. Dewdney, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics/National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Joeleff T. Fitzsimmons, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics/National Research Council Canada (Canada)
David J. Halliday, AGRA Coast Ltd. (Canada)
Kai Kuerschner, Univ. of British Columbia (Canada)
Gerard Lachapelle, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
David Lo, AGRA Coast Ltd. (Canada)
Pedram Mousavi, Univ. of Manitoba (Canada)
Meyer Nahon, Univ. of Victoria (Canada)
Lot Shafai, Univ. of Manitoba (Canada)
Sigfried F. Stiemer, Univ. of British Columbia (Canada)
Russell Taylor, Univ. of Calgary (Canada)
Bruce Veidt, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics/National Research Council Canada (Canada)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4015:
Radio Telescopes
Harvey R. Butcher, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top