Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Simple detector pixel of dielectric bolometer mode and its device structure for an uncooled IR image sensor
Author(s): Minoru Noda; Tomonori Mukaigawa; Kazuhiko Hashimoto; Tomofumi Kiyomoto; Huaping Xu; Ryuichi Kubo; Hidekazu Tanaka; Tatsuro Usuki; Masanori Okuyama
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

A new type of simple pixel circuit has been developed in an IR image sensor of dielectric mode (DB). The detector pixel consists of capacitors of ferroelectric BST thin film prepared by laser ablation, whose dielectric constant changes drastically with temperature. Our new circuit is a serially-connected capacitor-capacitor circuit with a source-follower output buffer, where one capacitor is an IR detecting BST thin film capacitor formed on a membrane and the other is the same capacitor as reference but on Si bulk and nonirradiated. In order to avoid crack and deformation on the thermally insulated structure, a stress-balanced structure by multi-layered membrane has been newly developed, where the ferroelectric capacitor is formed on a triple layer of SiO2/SiNx/SiO2 films. A BST film on membrane is found to show positive TCD ranging from 1 to 6 percent K in our experiment. A new monolithic process flow is developed to combine an n-MOSFET process and a Si-bulk micromachining process, and ferroelectric capacitors on the stress-balanced membrane are able to be formed monolithically with MOSFET's for source-follower output buffer. Finally, it is especially noted that the operation in the detector pixel in the DB mode is confirmed on the monolithically integrated device structure.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 July 1999
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 3698, Infrared Technology and Applications XXV, (26 July 1999); doi: 10.1117/12.354559
Show Author Affiliations
Minoru Noda, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Tomonori Mukaigawa, Hochiki Corp. (Japan)
Kazuhiko Hashimoto, Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Tomofumi Kiyomoto, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Huaping Xu, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Ryuichi Kubo, Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Hidekazu Tanaka, Yamatake Corp. (Japan)
Tatsuro Usuki, SANYO Electric Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Masanori Okuyama, Osaka Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3698:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXV
Bjorn F. Andresen; Marija Strojnik, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top