Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Microfabrication of diamond probe for atomic force microscope
Author(s): Takayuki Shibata; Tae Nakatsuji; Yasutaka Kitamoto; Kazuya Unno; Eiji Makino
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

AFM probes consisting of a diamond cantilever and a diamond tip were fabricated using a newly developed micromachining process based on the CVD of diamond film. The tips were fabricated by diamond deposition onto a Si mold formed by anisotropic etching in a KOH solution. It was possible to realize a sharp diamond tip with an apex radius of less than several tens of nm. The cantilevers were fabricated by selective deposition of diamond film patterns. This process was realized by mechanically damaging the substrate surface and subsequent pattern etching of the damaged layer, leaving a damaged pattern of high nucleation density on the substrate surface. Finally, the base of the fabricated diamond probe was coated with an Al layer by evaporation and then attached to a glass backing plate with epoxy adhesive to facilitate handling. We also discuss the possibility of attaching the glass backing plate by anodic bonding to further increase accuracy. Applying the fabricated V-shaped and rectangular diamond probes to measurements on a commercial AFM system, it was demonstrated that they were capable of obtaining AFM images.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 March 1999
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 3680, Design, Test, and Microfabrication of MEMS and MOEMS, (10 March 1999); doi: 10.1117/12.341185
Show Author Affiliations
Takayuki Shibata, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Tae Nakatsuji, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Yasutaka Kitamoto, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Kazuya Unno, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
Eiji Makino, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3680:
Design, Test, and Microfabrication of MEMS and MOEMS
Bernard Courtois; Wolfgang Ehrfeld; Selden B. Crary; Wolfgang Ehrfeld; Hiroyuki Fujita; Jean Michel Karam; Karen W. Markus, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top