Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Characterization of ultrafast x-ray detectors at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
Author(s): Rene Wrobel; Bernard Brullot; Francois Dainciart; Jean Doublier; Jean-Francois Eloy; Remy Marmoret; Bruno Villette; Olivier Mathon; Remi Tucoulou; Andreas K. Freund
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

With the advent of new x-ray sources, the detection of radiation with picosecond temporal resolution becomes increasingly important. We used the time structure of the radiation at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) to characterize fast detectors developed for x-ray diagnostics. The detectors tested were neutron pre-irradiated Gallium Arsenide (GaAs) detectors and chemical-vapor-deposited (CVD) diamond detectors. The experiments were performed on beamline BM5, both in single-bunch and multi-bunch mode. The response of the detectors to the hard x-ray pulses was recorded using a single shot 7 Ghz oscilloscope or using a digital oscilloscope in sampling mode. For a current of the electrons in the storage ring of typically 10 - 15 mA in monomode-bunch, the pulse length was between 100 ps and 150 ps (FWHM). In multi-bunch mode, the X-ray pulse length was independent of the current and shorter. We measured FWHM pulse duration values down to 50 ps. Comparison with data obtained with a streak camera showed that the time resolution of our detectors was at best 25 ps.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 December 1998
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 3451, Time Structure of X-Ray Sources and Its Applications, (1 December 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.331837
Show Author Affiliations
Rene Wrobel, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Bernard Brullot, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Francois Dainciart, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Jean Doublier, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Jean-Francois Eloy, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Remy Marmoret, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Bruno Villette, Direction des Applications Militaires/CEA (France)
Olivier Mathon, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Remi Tucoulou, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Andreas K. Freund, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3451:
Time Structure of X-Ray Sources and Its Applications
Andreas K. Freund; Henry P. Freund; Malcolm R. Howells, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top