Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High-accuracy calibration of the HXDS flow-proportional counter for AXAF at the PTB laboratory at BESSY
Author(s): Jutta M. Auerhammer; G. Brandt; Frank Scholze; R. Thornagel; Gerhard Ulm; Bradford J. Wargelin; Walter C. McDermott; Timothy J. Norton; Ian N. Evans; Edwin M. Kellogg
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory uses the HRMA X- ray Detection System (HXDS) to calibrate the High-Resolution Mirror Assembly of the Advanced X-ray Astrophysics Facility AXAF. Apart from two high-purity-germanium solid-state detectors (SSDs) with good energy resolution and very high efficiency at higher energies, the detection system comprises seven flow proportional counters (FPCs) and one microchannel-plate High-Speed Imager. For the lower energy range, the FPCs are more appropriate. They have been calibrated at the radiometry laboratory of the Physikalisch- Technische Bundesandstalt, using the electron storage ring BESSY. For the determination of the absolute quantum efficiency two methods have been applied. First, the detector response was measured in the lower energy range 0.1 keV to 1.7 keV at several discrete energies using monochromatized radiation. The absolute photon flux has been determined by Si n-on-p photodiodes, calibrated against a cryogenic electrical-substitution radiometer used as primary detector source standard BESSY, which can be calculated very accurately. Combining both measurements the determination of the detection efficiency over the entire desired spectral range was possible with a typical relative uncertainty around 1 percent to 2 percent in the central energy range.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 November 1998
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 3444, X-Ray Optics, Instruments, and Missions, (19 November 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.331242
Show Author Affiliations
Jutta M. Auerhammer, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
G. Brandt, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Frank Scholze, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
R. Thornagel, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Gerhard Ulm, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
Bradford J. Wargelin, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Walter C. McDermott, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Timothy J. Norton, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Ian N. Evans, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)
Edwin M. Kellogg, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3444:
X-Ray Optics, Instruments, and Missions
Richard B. Hoover; Arthur B. C. Walker II, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top