Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Terahertz Hilbert-transform spectral analysis with high-Tc Josephson junctions: first applications
Author(s): Yuri Y. Divin; Oleg Y. Volkov; Vadim V. Shirotov; Valery V. Pavlovskii; Ulrich Poppe; Peter Schmueser; Manfred Tonutti; Klaus Hanke; Marc Geitz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Our recent results on Hilbert-transform spectral analysis based on ac Josephson effect are reported. High-quality epitaxial YBa2Cu3O7-x thin-film Josephson junctions have been fabricated on untwinned (110) NdGaO3 bicrystal substrates to satisfy the operational requirements of Hilbert-transform technique. The design and characteristics of the developed laboratory Hilbert-transform spectrometers are presented. Spectra of Josephson radiation in high-Tc junctions have been measured in the frequency range from 60 to 2250 GHz, and a Lorentzian shape of Josephson radiation has been obtained both for equilibrium (eV very much less than kT) and nonequilibrium (eV very much greater than kT) cases. The first spectral measurements of coherent transition radiation at Test Facility Linear Accelerator at the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY (Hamburg) have been made and the length of electron bunches of 1.2 ps has been determined from these spectra. The comparison of Hilbert-transform spectral analysis with conventional techniques is presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 November 1998
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 3465, Millimeter and Submillimeter Waves IV, (13 November 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.331177
Show Author Affiliations
Yuri Y. Divin, Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics (Russia) and Forschungszentrum Juelich GmbH (Russia)
Oleg Y. Volkov, Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics (Russia)
Vadim V. Shirotov, Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics (Russia)
Valery V. Pavlovskii, Institute of Radioengineering and Electronics (Russia)
Ulrich Poppe, Forschungszentrum Juelich GmbH (Germany)
Peter Schmueser, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany)
Manfred Tonutti, Rheinisch-Westfaelische Technische Hochschule Aachen (Germany)
Klaus Hanke, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany)
Marc Geitz, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3465:
Millimeter and Submillimeter Waves IV
Mohammed N. Afsar, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top