Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Electrical properties of MIS devices on CdZnTe/HgCdTe
Author(s): Tae-Seok Lee; Y. T. Jeoung; Hyun Kyu Kim; Jae Mook Kim; Jinhan Song; S. Y. Ann; Ji Young Lee; Young Hun Kim; Sun-Ung Kim; Mann-Jang Park; S. D. Lee; Sang-Hee Suh
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this paper, we report the capacitance-voltage (C-V) properties of metal-insulator-semiconductor (MIS) devices on CdTe/HgCdTe by the metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) and CdZnTe/HgCdTe by thermal evaporation. In MOCVD, CdTe layers are directly grown on HgCdTe using the metal organic sources of DMCd and DiPTe. HgCdTe layers are converted to n-type and the carrier concentration, ND is low 1015 cm-3 after Hg-vacancy annealing at 260 degrees Celsius. In thermal evaporation, CdZnTe passivation layers were deposited on HgCdTe surfaces after the surfaces were etched with 0.5 - 2.0% bromine in methanol solution. To investigate the electrical properties of the MIS devices, the C-V measurement is conducted at 80 K and 1 MHz. C-V curve of MIS devices on CdTe/HgCdTe by MOCVD has shown nearly flat band condition and large hysteresis, which is inferred to result from many defects in CdTe layer induced during Hg-vacancy annealing process. A negative flat band voltage (VFB approximately equals -2 V) and a small hysteresis have been observed for MIS devices on CdZnTe/HgCdTe by thermal evaporation. It is inferred that the negative flat band voltage results from residual Te4+ on the surface after etching with bromine in methanol solution.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 October 1998
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 3436, Infrared Technology and Applications XXIV, (26 October 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.328083
Show Author Affiliations
Tae-Seok Lee, Agency for Defense Development (South Korea)
Y. T. Jeoung, Agency for Defense Development (South Korea)
Hyun Kyu Kim, Agency for Defense Development (South Korea)
Jae Mook Kim, Agency for Defense Development (South Korea)
Jinhan Song, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
S. Y. Ann, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Ji Young Lee, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Young Hun Kim, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Sun-Ung Kim, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
Mann-Jang Park, Korea Univ. (South Korea)
S. D. Lee, Wonju National Junior College (South Korea)
Sang-Hee Suh, Korea Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3436:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXIV
Bjorn F. Andresen; Marija Strojnik, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top