Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Optical metrology for the filter set for the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) Advanced Camera for Surveys (ACS)
Author(s): Douglas B. Leviton; Rene A. Boucarut; Frank D Bush; David A. Content; Ritva A. M. Keski-Kuha; Catherine Kral; Carolyn A. Krebs; Timothy J. Madison; Kimberly I. Mehalick; Linda A. Miner; Todd A. Norton; Peter Petrone III; Bernard Peter Puc; Clive Standley; Zlatan I. Tsvetanov; Frank Varosi
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Hubble Space Telescope (HST) advanced camera for surveys (ACS) employs a wide variety of spectral filtration components including narrow band, medium band, wide band, and far UV (FUV) long pass filters, spatially-variable filters, VIS/IR polarizers, NUV polarizers, FUV prisms, and a grism. These components are spread across ACS's wide field, high resolution, and solar blind channels which provide diffraction-limited imaging of astronomical targets using aberration-correcting optics which remove most aberrations form HST's optical telescope assembly. In order for ACS to be truly advanced, these filters must push the state-of-the-art in performance in a number of key areas at the same time. Important requirements which these filters must meet include outstanding transmitted wavefront, high transmittance, uniform transmittance across each filter, spectrally structure-free bandpasses, exceptionally high out of band rejection, and a high degree of parfocality. These constitute a very stringent set of requirements indeed, especially for filters which are up to 90 mm in diameter. The development of unique optical metrology stations used to demonstrate that each ACS filter will meet its design specifications is discussed. Of particular note are specially-designed spectral transmissometers and interferometers.

Paper Details

Date Published: 28 August 1998
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 3356, Space Telescopes and Instruments V, (28 August 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.324536
Show Author Affiliations
Douglas B. Leviton, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Rene A. Boucarut, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Frank D Bush, Computer Sciences Corp. (United States)
David A. Content, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Ritva A. M. Keski-Kuha, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Catherine Kral, Johns Hopkins Univ. (United States)
Carolyn A. Krebs, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Timothy J. Madison, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Kimberly I. Mehalick, Swales Aerospace (United States)
Linda A. Miner, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Todd A. Norton, Swales Aerospace (United States)
Peter Petrone III, NSI Technology Services Corp. (United States)
Bernard Peter Puc, Raytheon STX Corp. (United States)
Clive Standley, Raytheon STX Corp. (United States)
Zlatan I. Tsvetanov, Johns Hopkins Univ. (United States)
Frank Varosi, Raytheon STX Corp. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3356:
Space Telescopes and Instruments V
Pierre Y. Bely; James B. Breckinridge, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top