Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Performance, standby power, and manufacturability trade-off in transistor design consideration for 0.25-um technology
Author(s): Navakanta Bhat; Harry Chuang; Paul Tsui; R. Woodruff; John Grant; R. Kruth; Asanga H. Perera; Stephen Poon; Sean Collins; D. Dyer; Veena Misra; I. Yang; Suresh Venkatesan; Percy V. Gilbert
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this paper, we compare four different approaches for transistor design for the 0.25 micrometer technology from the point of view of performance, stand-by power and ease of manufacturing. For the high performance logic applications such as high end microprocessors, 0.18 micrometer transistor (Lgate equals 0.18 plus or minus 0.02 micrometer) with super steep retrograde wells and halo implants but without extension implants can achieve maximum frequency of operation (Fmax) exceeding 380 Mhz for the 0.25 micrometer technology. On the other hand, for low power applications such as mobile communication equipments, a different 0.22 micrometer (Lgate equals 0.22 plus or minus 0.02 micrometer) transistor design which simplifies manufacturing process by eliminating two photolithography steps becomes more attractive. The four transistor designs are compared using CV/I metric and manufacturability trade-offs are discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 September 1998
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 3506, Microelectronic Device Technology II, (4 September 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.323963
Show Author Affiliations
Navakanta Bhat, Motorola (United States)
Harry Chuang, Motorola (United States)
Paul Tsui, Motorola (United States)
R. Woodruff, Motorola (United States)
John Grant, Motorola (United States)
R. Kruth, Motorola (United States)
Asanga H. Perera, Motorola (United States)
Stephen Poon, Motorola (United States)
Sean Collins, Motorola (United States)
D. Dyer, Motorola (United States)
Veena Misra, Motorola (United States)
I. Yang, Motorola (United States)
Suresh Venkatesan, Motorola (United States)
Percy V. Gilbert, Motorola (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3506:
Microelectronic Device Technology II
David Burnett; Dirk Wristers; Toshiaki Tsuchiya, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top