Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Heterodyne instrument for FIRST (HIFI): preliminary design
Author(s): Mattheus WM de Graauw; Nick D. Whyborn; Herman van de Stadt; Gerard Beaudin; Douwe A. Beintema; Victor Belitsky; Philippe Cais; Emmanuel Caux; M. Gheudin; Alain Cros; P. de Groene; A. Emrich; Neal R. Erickson; Todd C. Gaier; Juan Daniel Gallego-Puyol; Jianrong Gao; Paul Hartogh; N. Honingh; J. Horn; K. Jacobs; R. Kruisinga; F. Lura; Alain Lecacheux; Vincenzo Natale; R. Orfei; John C. Pearson; Thomas G. Phillips; Peter R. Roelfsema; Carlo Rosolen; Morvan Salez; Rudolf T. Schieder; Karl-Friedrich Schuster; Gerhard W. Schwaab; J. P. Starsky; Juergen Stutzki; S. Torchinsky; Boris van Leeuwen; Huib Visser; Klaas J. Wildeman; Stafford Withington; Jonas Zmuidzinas
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We describe the preliminary design of the proposed Heterodyne Instrument for FIRST (HIFI). The instrument will have a continuous frequency coverage over the range from 480 to 1250 GHz in five bands, while a sixth band will provide coverage for 1410 - 1910 GHz and 2400 - 2700 GHz. The first five bands will use SIS mixers and varactor frequency multipliers while in the sixth band a laser photomixer local oscillator will pump HEB mixers. HIFI will have an instantaneous bandwidth of 4 GHz, analyzed in parallel by two types of spectrometers: a pair of wide-band spectrometers (WBS), and a pair of high- resolution spectrometer (HRS). The wide-band spectrometer will use acousto-optic technology with a frequency resolution of 1 MHz and a bandwidth of 4 GHz for each of the two polarizations. The HRS will provide two combinations of bandwidth and resolution: 1 GHz bandwidth at 200 kHz resolution, and at least 500 MHz at 100 kHz resolution. The HRS will be divided into 4 or 5 sub-bands, each of which can be placed anywhere within the full 4 GHz IF band. The instrument will be able to perform rapid and complete spectral line surveys with resolving powers from 103 up to 107 (300 - 0.03 km/s) and deep line observations.

Paper Details

Date Published: 31 July 1998
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 3357, Advanced Technology MMW, Radio, and Terahertz Telescopes, (31 July 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.317368
Show Author Affiliations
Mattheus WM de Graauw, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Nick D. Whyborn, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Herman van de Stadt, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Gerard Beaudin, Observatoire de Paris (France)
Douwe A. Beintema, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Victor Belitsky, Onsala Space Observatory/Chalmers Univ. of Technology (Sweden)
Philippe Cais, Observatoire de Bordeaux (France)
Emmanuel Caux, CESR (France)
M. Gheudin, Observatoire de Paris (France)
Alain Cros, CESR (France)
P. de Groene, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Utrecht (Netherlands)
A. Emrich, Omnisys Instruments (Sweden)
Neal R. Erickson, Univ. of Massachusetts/Amherst (United States)
Todd C. Gaier, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Juan Daniel Gallego-Puyol, OAN/Centro Astronomico de Yebes (Spain)
Jianrong Gao, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Paul Hartogh, Max-Planck-Institute for Aeronomy (Germany)
N. Honingh, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
J. Horn, Univ. of Koeln (Netherlands)
K. Jacobs, Univ. of Koeln (Germany)
R. Kruisinga, TNO-TPD (Netherlands)
F. Lura, DLR (Germany)
Alain Lecacheux, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Vincenzo Natale, CAISMI-CNR (Italy)
R. Orfei, IFSI-CNR (Italy)
John C. Pearson, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Thomas G. Phillips, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Peter R. Roelfsema, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Groningen (Netherlands)
Carlo Rosolen, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Morvan Salez, Observatoire de Paris (France)
Rudolf T. Schieder, Univ. zu Koeln (Germany)
Karl-Friedrich Schuster, Institut de Radio Astronomie Millimetrique (France)
Gerhard W. Schwaab, DLR (Germany)
J. P. Starsky, Chalmers Univ. of Technology (Sweden)
Juergen Stutzki, Univ. zu Koeln (Germany)
S. Torchinsky, Onsala Space Observatory/Chalmers Univ. of Technology (Sweden)
Boris van Leeuwen, Space Research Organization Netherlands/Utrecht (Netherlands)
Huib Visser, TNO-TPD (Netherlands)
Klaas J. Wildeman, Space Research Organization/Groningen (Netherlands)
Stafford Withington, Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory (United Kingdom)
Jonas Zmuidzinas, California Institute of Technology (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3357:
Advanced Technology MMW, Radio, and Terahertz Telescopes
Thomas G. Phillips, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top