Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Design of the cryogenic wheel mechanisms for IRCS and NIRI
Author(s): James Bell; Jeffrey W. Douglass; Klaus-Werner Hodapp; Naoto Kobayashi; Louis Robertson; Alan T. Tokunaga; Tony T. Young
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The IR camera and spectrograph (IRCS) for SUBARU and Gemini near-IR imager (NIRI) instruments have a common design for all wheels, based on a modified geneva mechanisms with a locking cam actuated detent pin. The geneva design, in combination with the spring loaded detent mechanism, allows the stepper motor/spur gear drive to decouple from the wheel at each aperture position. The detent mechanism positions the wheel precisely. The need for precise motor control and wheel position encoding is reduced because of the detent mechanism. Six of these mechanism are filters wheels requiring repeatable aperture positing. The other seven mechanisms include of a slit wheel, grism wheel, pupil mask wheel, 2 beam steerers, a focal p;lane mask wheel, and a beamsplitter wheel. These mechanisms require repeatable, stable and accurate positioning. The number of aperture positions for the 13 wheels range from 2 to 16. The mechanisms are aligned and tested at room temperature and operated at 60 K, requiring an athermal design, for which the modified geneva mechanism is ideally suited. This paper will discuss the prototype development and final mechanical design of specific wheel mechanisms completed for the IRCS and NIRI instruments at the Institute for Astronomy.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 August 1998
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 3354, Infrared Astronomical Instrumentation, (21 August 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.317235
Show Author Affiliations
James Bell, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Jeffrey W. Douglass, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Klaus-Werner Hodapp, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Naoto Kobayashi, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (United States)
Louis Robertson, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Alan T. Tokunaga, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Tony T. Young, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3354:
Infrared Astronomical Instrumentation
Albert M. Fowler, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top