Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Adaptive region-based multiscaled motion-compensated video coding for error-prone communication channels
Author(s): Paramvir Bahl; Wei-Lien Hsu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this paper we propose an adaptive region-based, multi- scale, motion compensated video compression algorithm designed for transmission over hostile communication channels. Our codec extracts spatial information form video frames to create video regions that are then decomposed into sub-bands of different perceptual importance before being compressed and transmitted independently. This allows the system to apply unequal error protection, prioritized transmission, and 'lego-reconstruction' to guarantee a minimum spatial and temporal resolution at the receiver. Furthermore, the region segmented frames bound both spatial and temporal error propagation within frames and when combined with our novel connection-level inter-region statistical multiplexing scheme ensure optimal utilization of the reserved transmission bandwidth. Simulation results demonstrate that in the presence of severe time-varying error conditions and severe bandwidth constraints, our video codec exhibits better error concealment, better temporal resolution, and better bandwidth utilization properties than the popular International Telecommunication Union's and International Standard Organization's video coding standards.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 February 1998
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 3228, Multimedia Networks: Security, Displays, Terminals, and Gateways, (1 February 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.300901
Show Author Affiliations
Paramvir Bahl, Microsoft Corp. (United States)
Wei-Lien Hsu, Digital Equipment Corp. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3228:
Multimedia Networks: Security, Displays, Terminals, and Gateways
Louis S. Lome; V. Michael Bove Jr.; Barbara Derryberry; Clifford R. Holliday; Louis S. Lome; Vishal Markandey; Andrew G. Tescher; Bhaskaran Vasudev, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top