Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Recent progress in the hard-tube MILO experiment
Author(s): Michael D. Haworth; Ken E. Allen; G. Baca; James N. Benford; Thad J. Englert; Kirk E. Hackett; Kyle J. Hendricks; Dean M. Henley; Raymond W. Lemke; David Price; Dale R. Ralph; Miguel D. Sena; Donald A. Shiffler; Thomas A. Spencer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Hard-Tube MILO (Magnetically Insulated transmission Line Oscillator) is a gigawatt-class L-band high power microwave tube driven by a 500 kV, 60 kA electron beam. It is nearly identical to the MILO reported by Calico et al., with the principle difference being that the Hard-Tube MILO has been constructed using conventional-tube brazing techniques for the rf joints, while the earlier version of MILO used finger-stock connections for the rf joints. This paper reports on recent experimental improvements to the tube that have allowed us to generate 1.5 - 2.0 GW pulses of 175 ns duration; a 2.5 times improvement in the pulse width over the original tube. In addition, we report on experiments to identify the breakdown mechanism in the vacuum radome for the Vlasov antenna used to radiate the microwave pulse. Finally, details of an optimized version of the Hard-Tube MILO that should allow us to generate over 3.0 GW are presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 October 1997
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 3158, Intense Microwave Pulses V, (3 October 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.279433
Show Author Affiliations
Michael D. Haworth, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Ken E. Allen, Maxwell Labs., Inc. (United States)
G. Baca, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
James N. Benford, Microwave Sciences, Inc. (United States)
Thad J. Englert, Numerex (United States)
Kirk E. Hackett, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Kyle J. Hendricks, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Dean M. Henley, Maxwell Labs., Inc. (United States)
Raymond W. Lemke, Sandia National Labs. (United States)
David Price, Primex Physics International Co. (United States)
Dale R. Ralph, Maxwell Labs., Inc. (United States)
Miguel D. Sena, Maxwell Labs., Inc. (United States)
Donald A. Shiffler, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)
Thomas A. Spencer, Air Force Phillips Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3158:
Intense Microwave Pulses V
Howard E. Brandt, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top