Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication of Si/Si1-xGex waveguide WDM components
Author(s): Dan-Xia Xu; Siegfried Janz; Robin L. Williams; Elizabeth Allegretto; Sylvain Mailhot; Jian Jun He; Jean-Marc Baribeau; Hugues Lafontaine; John Stapledon; Jeffrey W. Fraser; Mike R. Robillard; Paul E. Jessop; Stephen Kovacic
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The design of manufacturable Si/Si1-xGex waveguide WDM components involves several unique materials and fabrication issues which must be confronted and resolved. Accurate data for the refractive indices of the waveguide materials are essential. Furthermore, the waveguide design is tightly constrained by the requirement that Si/Si1-xGex layer thickness is within the pseudomorphic growth limit. By combining refractive indices determined from mode profile measurements of MBE and CVD grown waveguides, and epilayer thickness constraints set by the pseudomorphic growth limits, we have determined a set of design criteria for Si/Si1-xGex waveguides for WDM and optical signal routing applications. Optically smooth and vertical Si/Si1-xGex waveguide facets are critical in permitting highly efficient coupling between the fiber and the Si chip. Since Si has an equal probability of cleaving alone either the <110> or <111> planes, producing such high quality facets consistently is extremely challenging. We have demonstrated that high quality facets can be obtained consistently by cleaving, with and without a dielectric layer on Si substrates.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 April 1997
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 3007, Silicon-Based Monolithic and Hybrid Optoelectronic Devices, (25 April 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.273852
Show Author Affiliations
Dan-Xia Xu, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Siegfried Janz, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Robin L. Williams, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Elizabeth Allegretto, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Sylvain Mailhot, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jian Jun He, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jean-Marc Baribeau, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Hugues Lafontaine, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
John Stapledon, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Jeffrey W. Fraser, National Research Council Canada (Canada)
Mike R. Robillard, McMaster Univ. (Canada)
Paul E. Jessop, McMaster Univ. (Canada)
Stephen Kovacic, Nortel Technology (Canada)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3007:
Silicon-Based Monolithic and Hybrid Optoelectronic Devices
Derek C. Houghton; Bahram Jalali, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top