Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High-speed soft x-ray techniques
Author(s): Eiichi Sato; Michiaki Sagae; Arimitsu Shikoda; Kei Takahashi; Teiji Oizumi; Mariko Yamamoto; Akihito Takabe; Kimio Sakamaki; Yasuomi Hayasi; Hidenori Ojima; Kazuyoshi Takayama; Yoshiharu Tamakawa
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The construction and the characteristics of recent high- speed soft x-ray generators designed by the authors are described. The flash x-ray generators having cold-cathode radiation tubes are three types as follows: (1) soft generator utilizing an ignitron, (2) plasma generator for producing high-intensity characteristic x rays, and (3) water-window generator having a high-durability fermite capillary. In general, when we employed the flash x-ray generators with diodes, the pulse widths had values of less than 200 ns. Next, the x-ray duration was almost equivalent to the durations of the tube voltage and current during their damped oscillations when the water-window generator was employed. The maximum tube voltage was increased up to 100 kV, and the tube currents achieved with high-intensity generators were more than 10 kA. In order to obtain kilohertz-range repetition rates, we have developed two types of stroboscopic x-ray generators having hot-cathode tubes as follows: (4) low-photon-energy generator utilizing and triode and (5) high-photon-energy generator with a diode. As the duration was controlled in a microsecond range by using the low-photon-energy generator, sufficient x-ray intensifier for the normal radiography were obtained. The maximum photon energy could be increased up to about 200 keV by the high-photon-energy generator having a double transformer. Using these generation, we performed high-speed soft radiography.

Paper Details

Date Published: 28 May 1997
PDF: 19 pages
Proc. SPIE 2869, 22nd International Congress on High-Speed Photography and Photonics, (28 May 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.273384
Show Author Affiliations
Eiichi Sato, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Michiaki Sagae, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Arimitsu Shikoda, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Kei Takahashi, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Teiji Oizumi, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Mariko Yamamoto, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Akihito Takabe, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Kimio Sakamaki, Iwate Medical University (Japan)
Yasuomi Hayasi, Hachinohe National College of Technology (Japan)
Hidenori Ojima, Tohoku University (Japan)
Kazuyoshi Takayama, Tohoku University (Japan)
Yoshiharu Tamakawa, Iwate Medical University (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2869:
22nd International Congress on High-Speed Photography and Photonics
Dennis L. Paisley; ALan M. Frank, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top