Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

CFHT adaptive optics: first results at the telescope
Author(s): O. Lai; Jean-Pierre Veran; Francois J. Rigaut; Daniel Rouan; Pierre Gigan; Francois Lacombe; Pierre J. Lena; Robin Arsenault; Derrick A. Salmon; James Thomas; David Crampton; J. Murray Fletcher; James R. Stilburn; Corinne Boyer; Pascal Jagourel
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The adaptive optics instrument adaptor for the 3.6 m Canada- France-Hawaii telescope (CFHT) is currently in the commissioning phase. The heart of the system is a 19 electrode bimorph mirror (1:6:12), used with a 19 sub-aperture, curvature wave-front sensor and a separate tip-tilt re-imaging mirror. The performance evaluated in the laboratory and on the sky are presented: the adaptive optics control system provides a 100 Hz servo bandwidth with modal control capabilities. We report astronomical images with median Strehl ratio of 20 (at 1.25 micrometer) to 60% (at 2.2 micrometer), with a FWHM of 0.1 arcsec and a sensitivity allowing image quality improvement with guide stars as faint as mR equals 17.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 March 1997
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 2871, Optical Telescopes of Today and Tomorrow, (21 March 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.269121
Show Author Affiliations
O. Lai, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Jean-Pierre Veran, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope (United States)
Telecom Paris (France)
Francois J. Rigaut, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope (United States)
Daniel Rouan, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Pierre Gigan, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Francois Lacombe, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Pierre J. Lena, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Robin Arsenault, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
Derrick A. Salmon, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
James Thomas, Observatoire de Paris-Meudon (France)
David Crampton, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory (Canada)
J. Murray Fletcher, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory (Canada)
James R. Stilburn, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory (Canada)
Corinne Boyer, CILAS (France)
Pascal Jagourel, CILAS (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2871:
Optical Telescopes of Today and Tomorrow
Arne L. Ardeberg, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top