Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Infrared instrumentation for the Subaru Telescope
Author(s): Tetsuo Nishimura; Saeko S. Hayashi; Noriyuki Kaifu; Naoto Kobayashi; Yukiyasu Kobayashi; Motohide Tamura; Hideki Takami; Tadafumi Takata; T. Yamashita; Hirokazu Kataza; Toshihiko Tanabe; Y. Ito; Takashi Miyata; A. Mori; Takashi Onaka; Daigo Tomono; Koji Murakawa; Hiroshi Shibai; Tetsuya Nagata; Fumihide Iwamuro; Toshinori Maihara; Kentaro Motohara; Shin Oya; Hiroyuki Tsukamoto; Lennox L. Cowie; Donald N. B. Hall; Klaus-Werner Hodapp; Joseph L. Hora; John T. Rayner; Alan T. Tokunaga
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The infrared instrumentation plan for the Subaru telescope is described. Four approved infrared instruments and one test observation system are now in the construction phase. They are coronagraph imager using adaptive optics (CIAO), cooled mid- infrared camera and spectrograph (COMICS), infrared camera and spectrograph (IRCS), OH-airglow suppressor spectrograph (OHS) and mid-infrared test observation system (MIRTOS). Their performance goals and construction schedules are summarized. The plan for procurement and evaluation of infrared arrays required by these instruments is briefly described.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 March 1997
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 2871, Optical Telescopes of Today and Tomorrow, (21 March 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.268992
Show Author Affiliations
Tetsuo Nishimura, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Saeko S. Hayashi, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Noriyuki Kaifu, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Naoto Kobayashi, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Yukiyasu Kobayashi, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Motohide Tamura, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Hideki Takami, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Tadafumi Takata, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
T. Yamashita, National Astronomical Observatory (Japan)
Hirokazu Kataza, Institute of Astronomy (Japan)
Toshihiko Tanabe, Institute of Astronomy (Japan)
Y. Ito, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Takashi Miyata, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
A. Mori, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Takashi Onaka, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Daigo Tomono, Univ. of Tokyo (Japan)
Koji Murakawa, Graduate Univ. for Advanced Studies (Japan)
Hiroshi Shibai, Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (Japan)
Tetsuya Nagata, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Fumihide Iwamuro, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Toshinori Maihara, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Kentaro Motohara, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Shin Oya, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Hiroyuki Tsukamoto, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Lennox L. Cowie, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Donald N. B. Hall, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Klaus-Werner Hodapp, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Joseph L. Hora, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
John T. Rayner, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)
Alan T. Tokunaga, Univ. of Hawaii/Manoa (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2871:
Optical Telescopes of Today and Tomorrow
Arne L. Ardeberg, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top