Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Laser treatment of port-wine stains: reduced pain and shorter duration of purpura by epidermal cooling
Author(s): Elisanne Janne Fiskerstrand; Lill Tove Norvang Nilsen; Lars Othar Svaasand
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The pulsed dye laser is the most efficient laser to treat port wine stains. Mathematical modeling predicts that the incident optical fluence required to coagulate small sized and/or deeply located vessels is larger than the threshold value for epidermal damage. Dynamic cooling has been reported to prevent epidermal damage caused by the absorption of laser energy in melanin. Further on, this cooling technique has proved to reduce the pain associated with laser therapy. The aim of our study was to examine possible clinical advantages of dynamic cooling. A flash lamp pumped dye laser emitting at 585 nm wavelength with pulse duration of 0.45 ms and a 5 mm diameter spot-size was used. In 12 port wine stains pairs of test sites were exposed to laser pulses with incident fluences of 6.0 to 10.0 J/cm2. In all stains one of the sites in each pair received 20 ms cryogen spurts immediately prior to laser admission. In the cooled areas laser induced pain was significantly reduced, and the time period with skin discoloration was shortened by an average of 5 days. Post treatment hyperpigmentation was not prevented. Future studies will aim at improving the cooling technique in order to achieve optical protection of the epidermis.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 December 1996
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 2922, Laser Applications in Medicine and Dentistry, (3 December 1996); doi: 10.1117/12.260690
Show Author Affiliations
Elisanne Janne Fiskerstrand, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Lill Tove Norvang Nilsen, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)
Lars Othar Svaasand, Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (Norway)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2922:
Laser Applications in Medicine and Dentistry
Gregory B. Altshuler; Fausto Chiesa; Herbert J. Geschwind; Raimund Hibst; Neville Krasner; Frederic Laffitte; Giulio Maira; Reinhard Neumann; Roberto Pini; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; Andre Roggan; Montserrat Serra I Mila, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top