Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

A submm-wave comet explorer for water isotopic composition measurements
Author(s): Imran Mehdi; Paul von Allmen; Jacob Kooi; Mathieu Choukroun; Paul F. Goldsmith; Darren Hayton; Bruce Bumble; Pierre Echternach; Sabrina Feldman
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Remote submm-wave spectrometers have the capability of providing statistically significant numbers of isotopic composition measurements within the budget constraints of available planetary missions. This talk will present a mission and instrument concept that would enable an accurate measurement of the D/H ratio on not one but several dozens of comets in a four-year mission lifetime. The instrument would utilize advanced cryogenic detectors that would allow us to measure the abundance of the para and ortho spin states of water and its isotopologues. State of the art superconducting heterodyne receivers have been developed that provide detection sensitivities approaching the quantum limit in the 500 GHz frequency range enabling the measurement of D/H ratio on around 50 comets from an observatory stationed for example at the thermally benign Lagrange point L2

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 July 2018
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 10698, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 106980F (24 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2313041
Show Author Affiliations
Imran Mehdi, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Paul von Allmen, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jacob Kooi, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Mathieu Choukroun, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Paul F. Goldsmith, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Darren Hayton, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Bruce Bumble, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Pierre Echternach, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Sabrina Feldman, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10698:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Makenzie Lystrup; Howard A. MacEwen; Giovanni G. Fazio; Natalie Batalha; Nicholas Siegler; Edward C. Tong, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top