Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • new

STROBE-X: a probe-class mission for x-ray spectroscopy and timing on timescales from microseconds to years
Author(s): Paul S. Ray; Zaven Arzoumanian; Søren Brandt; Eric Burns; Deepto Chakrabarty; Marco Feroci; Keith C. Gendreau; Olivier Gevin; Margarita Hernanz; Peter Jenke; Steven Kenyon; José Luis Gálvez; Thomas J. Maccarone; Takashi Okajima; Ronald A. Remillard; Stéphane Schanne; Chris Tenzer; Andrea Vacchi; Colleen A. Wilson-Hodge; Berend Winter; Silvia Zane; David R. Ballantyne; Enrico Bozzo; Laura W. Brenneman; Edward Cackett; Alessandra De Rosa; Adam Goldstein; Dieter H. Hartmann; Michael McDonald; Abigail L. Stevens; John A. Tomsick; Anna L. Watts; Kent S. Wood; Abderahmen Zoghbi
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

We describe the Spectroscopic Time-Resolving Observatory for Broadband Energy X-rays (STROBE-X), a probeclass mission concept that will provide an unprecedented view of the X-ray sky, performing timing and spectroscopy over both a broad energy band (0.2–30 keV) and a wide range of timescales from microseconds to years. STROBE-X comprises two narrow-field instruments and a wide field monitor. The soft or low-energy band (0.2–12 keV) is covered by an array of lightweight optics (3-m focal length) that concentrate incident photons onto small solid-state detectors with CCD-level (85–175 eV) energy resolution, 100 ns time resolution, and low background rates. This technology has been fully developed for NICER and will be scaled up to take advantage of the longer focal length of STROBE-X. The higher-energy band (2–30 keV) is covered by large-area, collimated silicon drift detectors that were developed for the European LOFT mission concept. Each instrument will provide an order of magnitude improvement in effective area over its predecessor (NICER in the soft band and RXTE in the hard band). Finally, STROBE-X offers a sensitive wide-field monitor (WFM), both to act as a trigger for pointed observations of X-ray transients and also to provide high duty-cycle, high time-resolution, and high spectral-resolution monitoring of the variable X-ray sky. The WFM will boast approximately 20 times the sensitivity of the RXTE All-Sky Monitor, enabling multi-wavelength and multi-messenger investigations with a large instantaneous field of view. This mission concept will be presented to the 2020 Decadal Survey for consideration.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 July 2018
PDF: 20 pages
Proc. SPIE 10699, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 1069919 (6 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312257
Show Author Affiliations
Paul S. Ray, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Zaven Arzoumanian, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Søren Brandt, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Eric Burns, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Deepto Chakrabarty, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research (United States)
Marco Feroci, INAF - Istituto di Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali (Italy)
Keith C. Gendreau, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Olivier Gevin, CEA Paris-Saclay (France)
Margarita Hernanz, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spain)
Peter Jenke, The Univ. of Alabama in Huntsville (United States)
Steven Kenyon, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
José Luis Gálvez, Institut de Ciències de l'Espai (Spain)
Thomas J. Maccarone, Texas Tech Univ. (United States)
Takashi Okajima, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Ronald A. Remillard, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research (United States)
Stéphane Schanne, CEA Paris-Saclay (France)
Chris Tenzer, Eberhard Karls Univ. Tübingen (Germany)
Andrea Vacchi, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (Italy)
Colleen A. Wilson-Hodge, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Berend Winter, Mullard Space Science Lab. (United Kingdom)
Silvia Zane, Mullard Space Science Lab. (United Kingdom)
David R. Ballantyne, Georgia Institute of Technology (United States)
Enrico Bozzo, Univ. of Geneva (Switzerland)
Laura W. Brenneman, Harvard-Smithsonian Ctr. for Astrophysics (United States)
Edward Cackett, Wayne State Univ. (United States)
Alessandra De Rosa, INAF - IASF Roma (Italy)
Adam Goldstein, Science and Technology Institute, USRA (United States)
Dieter H. Hartmann, Clemson Univ. (United States)
Michael McDonald, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research (United States)
Abigail L. Stevens, Michigan State Univ. (United States)
John A. Tomsick, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
Anna L. Watts, Univ. van Amsterdam (Netherlands)
Kent S. Wood, Praxis, Inc. (United States)
Abderahmen Zoghbi, Univ. of Michigan (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10699:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray
Jan-Willem A. den Herder; Shouleh Nikzad; Kazuhiro Nakazawa, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top