Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • Open Access

Space cryogenics at CEA-SBT
Author(s): Lionel Duband; Ivan Charles; Jean-Marc Duval; Eric Ercolani; Philippe Gully; Nicolas Luchier; Thomas Prouve; Pierre Thibault

Paper Abstract

The “Service des Basses Températures” (SBT) of CEA Grenoble has been involved in space cryogenics for over 20 years now. In fact a dedicated laboratory was created within SBT to carry out these developments, the “Cryocoolers and Space Cryogenics” group, which comprises about 20 persons as of today. Various cryocoolers have been developed in the past and our fields of activity focus now on four main technologies: sorption coolers, multistage pulse tubes, adiabatic demagnetization refrigerators (ADR), and cryogenic loop heat pipes. In addition work on two new concepts for ground based dilution refrigerators is also ongoing. Finally developments on various key technologies such as the heat switches, the suspension or structural systems are also carried out. These developments are mainly funded by the European Space Agency (ESA) or by the Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES). For most of these systems the common feature is the absence of any moving parts or any friction, which guarantees a very good reliability and make them very good candidates for space borne instruments requiring cryogenic temperatures. In this paper we give an overview of these developments with a particular focus on the sub Kelvin coolers. Based on the HERSCHEL heritage for which we developed the flight sorption coolers, we are now proposing an original concept featuring the association of a 300 mK sorption unit with a miniature adiabatic demagnetization refrigerator. This combination will allow to provide temperature as low as 50 mK with a system weighting less than 5 kg. This development may have direct application for the XEUS and SPICA missions.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 November 2017
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 10566, International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2008, 105660A (21 November 2017); doi: 10.1117/12.2308267
Show Author Affiliations
Lionel Duband, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Ivan Charles, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Jean-Marc Duval, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Eric Ercolani, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Philippe Gully, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Nicolas Luchier, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Thomas Prouve, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France)
Pierre Thibault, Univ. Joseph Fourier (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10566:
International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2008
Josiane Costeraste; Errico Armandillo; Nikos Karafolas, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top